Author Topic: Rev counter for miller  (Read 4716 times)

Offline PJW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: gb
Rev counter for miller
« on: December 10, 2014, 02:45:25 PM »
I have just fitted this rev counter on my miller, the on /off switch & speed control are all in one, not ideal. this unit was pointed out to me by Sterlinglad, Thanks! it was purchased on a well known auction site listed as 4 Digital Tachometer RPM Speed Meter Red LED + Proximity Switch Sensor, it only cost 6.99 and was fitted an an hour, it works a treat!!!
Old Guys Rule the Dark Side of the Shed!

Offline drmico60

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Country: gb
    • mikesworkshop
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2015, 07:22:23 AM »
Hi PJW,
I have just bought a similar tacho. There is no wiring instructions in English just some Chinese characters on the 5 pin lug on the display. Have you any info on what connects to what?
Mike

Offline Will_D

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
  • Country: ie
    • National Homebrew Club of Ireland
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2015, 06:55:27 PM »
On the strength of this vaguely interesting thread I have just lashed out 7 quid for a blue one.

Do they supply a bit of magnet?

The sensor is a Hall effect (ie magnetic) so you just mount a small bit of magnet on the rotaing bit and position the sensor between 1 and 10 mm from it and Bob should be your Da's Bro

However when it arrives it may be a case of "Fanny is not my Aunty"
Engineer and Chemist to the NHC.ie
http://www.nationalhomebrewclub.ie/forum/

Offline chipenter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
  • Country: gb
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2015, 04:03:23 AM »
I have two of thees and the wiring instructions were on the ebay post , nothing came with them one came with a magnet and one without .
Jeff

Offline mfletch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Country: gb
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2015, 04:58:58 AM »
 be warned the magnet only works one way

Offline seadog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: england
  • NE London
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2015, 09:00:50 AM »
I fitted one of these to my lathe last year. It worked fine for a few monthe and then one day it wouldn't register. I suspected the pickup and mailed the seller. After much toing and froing they decided to send me a replacement display. Whilst waiting for the replacement, for some reason, I tried turning the magnet over. Lo and behold it worked :doh: It's still working some 14 months later, and I now have a spare display. I bought a new sensor for about 3 and this will eventually find its way onto my bench drill when I compete the three conversion for it.

Offline Will_D

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
  • Country: ie
    • National Homebrew Club of Ireland
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2015, 03:19:47 PM »
 And as I like blue displays I ordered a couple of temperature displays, one for the old Myford Motor and one for somewhere else like the front head stock bearing or maybe the counter shaft. Oh Eff!  Should have ordered 3 temp. displays.

Pictures to follow!

Btw: Why fit these? 'Cos Santa is bringing me a 2 axis DRO for the old Myford so I don't want to burn out anythging!
Engineer and Chemist to the NHC.ie
http://www.nationalhomebrewclub.ie/forum/

Offline SteveT

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: wales
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2015, 05:54:38 PM »
I got one about 6 months ago for my mill at the price its great it came with a magnet, which was a small disk and no good for my application but I had no problem getting a replacement magnet from Ebay for pence.  :D
Steven Tyrer
lives in Cardiff South Wales

Offline jcs0001

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
  • Country: ca
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2015, 11:53:40 AM »
Can the magnet be mounted on an aluminium pulley without major work?  I have a taig mill and the pulleys are stepped aluminium pulleys.  Sure would hate to have the magnet come off at 5000 rpm or so :D

Any thoughts would be appreciated. 

Thanks,

John.

Offline seadog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: england
  • NE London
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2015, 12:31:27 PM »
You could mill a small pocket in the pulley and then carefully peen the edge in two or three places. Remember, though, that these magnets are very brittle.

Offline Joules

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 839
  • Country: gb
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2015, 12:40:36 PM »
Or turn a band to be fixed over the pulley and cover the magnet, remember to balance your pulley afterwards.
Just get doing and make swarf, you can decide what its going to be later.   :thumbup:

Offline jcs0001

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
  • Country: ca
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2015, 11:57:31 AM »
Seadog and Joules - thanks for the comments.  I will need to take a closer look at it to see if there is room.  May also look at a dro for the mill - might be more useful than a rev counter.

John.

Offline Joules

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 839
  • Country: gb
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #12 on: December 31, 2015, 12:15:48 PM »
Take a look at Yuri's DRO for a cheap Android tablet.  Get your DRO and RPM in one package.  I really must get my finger out and make up the boards to get this working as I will then need two more.   :drool:
Just get doing and make swarf, you can decide what its going to be later.   :thumbup:

Offline Will_D

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
  • Country: ie
    • National Homebrew Club of Ireland
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #13 on: December 31, 2015, 02:32:38 PM »
So my kit arrived today on the slow boat from China.

No an instruction in sight! E-mailed the supplier.

Any one have any more info / pictures of theirs (I searched most e-bay RPM counters and none had and any info)

Photos and more tomorrow.

BTW: Happy New Year Modders!
Engineer and Chemist to the NHC.ie
http://www.nationalhomebrewclub.ie/forum/

Offline John Rudd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2148
  • Country: gb
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #14 on: December 31, 2015, 03:05:02 PM »
Will,

What info do you need?

Connection details for the generic chinese type.......
eccentric millionaire financed by 'er indoors
Location:  near Hull

Skype: chippiejnr

Offline chipenter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
  • Country: gb
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #15 on: December 31, 2015, 03:29:24 PM »
Gears whare I got mine you will have to copy the wiring diagram http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/261307045946?_trksid=p2059210.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT .
Jeff

Offline John Rudd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2148
  • Country: gb
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #16 on: December 31, 2015, 04:11:21 PM »
Just to clarify if theres any confusion.....

The transducer typically has three wires, Brown,Blue and Black.

The display generally 5 terminals.....

1= 12v positive +
2= 12v negative -

5 = signal in from transducer

So connect your 12v dc to 1&2, observing polarity, connect the Brown and Blue from the transducer to 1&2 respectively, then the Black to terminal 5..

Some sellers provide a tacho that has three wires, Red, Black and Yellow....

Red/Black is the usual 12v supply, Yellow is the signal connection.....
eccentric millionaire financed by 'er indoors
Location:  near Hull

Skype: chippiejnr

Offline Will_D

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
  • Country: ie
    • National Homebrew Club of Ireland
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #17 on: January 01, 2016, 07:44:27 AM »
Thanks guys it really helps to be part of such a great group!

Will
Engineer and Chemist to the NHC.ie
http://www.nationalhomebrewclub.ie/forum/

Offline JHovel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: au
Re: Rev counter for miller
« Reply #18 on: January 01, 2016, 09:13:56 AM »
Looking at the specs for the setup, I noticed a maximum respnse frequency of 100Hz. That equals 6000rpm with a single point of proximity to sense.
How does that work with a rev limit of 9999????
Cheers,
Joe