Author Topic: Cutting a flute on a tap  (Read 4821 times)

Offline ieezitin

Cutting a flute on a tap
« on: September 12, 2015, 09:05:52 PM »
I have made my own tap now i want to cut flutes in it for chip relief, whats better a ball end mill or regular end mill.

it is .636 dia 26TPI i was thinking three flutes,

All advice is welcome.

Thank you.

Anthony.
If you cant fix it, get another hobby.

Offline jcs0001

Re: Cutting a flute on a tap
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2015, 10:47:27 PM »
Anthony:

This page might help.  Dean deals with cutting flutes in a counterbore and gives a formula to use as to how deep from the top of the counterbore to lower the end mill (if using a vertical mill on a counterbore held horizontally):

http://www.deansphotographica.com/machining/projects/mill/cbore/cbore.html

I've used a regular end mill to do the same for cutters but can't say that I have a lot of knowledge in this regard.

John.

Offline NeoTech

• Roughedge Hobbyworks
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2015, 02:42:33 AM »
Take not that Dean is also a wizard.
Machinery: Optimum D320x920, Optimum BF20L, Aciera F3. -- I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work. http://www.roughedge.se/blogg/

Offline DMIOM

• Isle of Man
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2015, 03:44:53 AM »
Take not that Dean is also a wizard.

+1    :bow:  :bow:  :bow:

Offline Will_D

• National Homebrew Club of Ireland
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2015, 04:18:32 AM »
Thats a great article on making your own cutters.

There really should be a knowledge base for definitives like this ( or is there one already ? )
Engineer and Chemist to the NHC.ie
http://www.nationalhomebrewclub.ie/forum/

Offline ieezitin

« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2015, 12:01:38 PM »
Well I made the tap.

I have used hand soap to stop the sparking that happens when you heat to a cherry red state, the threads are 26TPI which are pretty delicate .