Author Topic: Omega Seamaster bumper automatic cal. 344 Repair  (Read 4118 times)

Offline raynerd

• Madmodder Committee
    • Raynerds Projects - Raynerd.co.uk
Omega Seamaster bumper automatic cal. 344 Repair
« on: February 18, 2016, 02:41:43 AM »
I got a Omega Seamaster bumper automatic cal344 about 8 years ago now. Sadly it stopped working a couple of years back and has been sat in the draw. I decided to take a look at it myself so it's most defiantly the most expensive watch I've worked on. I took a very long nearly 3 hour video incase I needed to review it to get it back in one piece again.  I trimmed it down to 10 minutes for interest. The engineering in these movements is mind blowing.  Some of the screws are like tiny flakes of swarf.

Anyway, I got to the bottom of what had made it stop and managed to fix it.

« Last Edit: February 18, 2016, 09:14:08 AM by raynerd »

Offline philf

Re: Omega Seamaster bumper automatic cal. 344 Repair
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2016, 08:48:02 AM »
Hi Chris,

Well done to get it working again.

I've not thought of taking a video. I make a high resolution scan on the flatbed scanner and print it out. When I take the watch apart I can lay down the parts and screws in the right place on the print to make sure they go back in the right place. It doesn't help with the order I took it apart.

I've an Omega Constellation that needs putting back together after I had the dial restored and bought new hands.

It's hard to comprehend how they can make some of the small parts and how incredibly good the finish is.

Phil.
Phil Fern

Offline raynerd

• Madmodder Committee
    • Raynerds Projects - Raynerd.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2016, 09:20:12 AM »
The scanner idea sounds good Phil but I take it you`d need to take multiple scans as the watch comes apart to show an order - as you mentioned.