Author Topic: emergency switch.  (Read 1959 times)

Offline wheeltapper

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
  • Country: gb
  • Spixworth Norfolk
emergency switch.
« on: June 09, 2016, 09:33:20 AM »
Hi guys,
I have a problem, the E switch on my lathe (chester comet) has stopped working.
I've tested the switch and it works OK so the problem is in the electronics somewhere.

instead of just wiring the switch in the mains they ran the wires into the rear electronics box, if I make and break one pair I hear a relay, the other pair does nowt.

I can't get to the rear box, a lathe isn't something I can just turn round,so I've ordered a new switch and I will mount it on the front and wire it straight into the power.

now the question, do I wire it BEFORE the panel switch or AFTER??

before someone asks " why don't I use the original switch" it's crap!

thanks for any help.

Roy.
I used to be confused, now I just don't know.

Offline John Rudd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
  • Country: gb
Re: emergency switch.
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2016, 11:10:43 AM »
I would suggest wiring it before the offending switch.....


However, I would much rather resolve the underlying cause as to why things aint working as they ought to..... :coffee:
eccentric millionaire financed by 'er indoors
Location:  Backworth Newcastle

Skype: chippiejnr

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5532
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: emergency switch.
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2016, 11:22:20 AM »
I expect that the original switch somehow also contributed to some sort of braking - maybe DC injection or something similar
« Last Edit: June 09, 2016, 12:54:18 PM by awemawson »
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline DavidA

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1167
  • Country: gb
Re: emergency switch.
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2016, 12:08:06 PM »
Roy,

I also think you really aught to find out what the problem is.  You say the original switch is ok. It doesn't seem a good idea to just add another one in a different part of the wiring.

Dave.

Offline wheeltapper

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
  • Country: gb
  • Spixworth Norfolk
Re: emergency switch.
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2016, 07:05:39 AM »
Hi again.
it looks like it's plan a.

sorry, but it's impossible to remove the circuitry with the lathe in the position it is.
I just spent one and a half hours struggling with it, kneeling on the bench, looking at it upside down and sweating, cursing because my glasses kept sliding off and everything went out of focus. :bang: :bang:

the main problem is that there is a row of wires connected the circuit board with tags and screws and it's impossible to see what you are doing, why they didn't use a plug and socket I don't know

on the whole I think that a stop that stops it by shutting off the mains is better than no stop at all.

a very frustrated
Roy.

if anyone still insists that I fix it I invite them to try and get the damn thing out.
I used to be confused, now I just don't know.

Offline John Rudd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
  • Country: gb
Re: emergency switch.
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2016, 09:27:56 AM »


on the whole I think that a stop that stops it by shutting off the mains is better than no stop at all.

a very frustrated
Roy.

if anyone still insists that I fix it I invite them to try and get the damn thing out.

Agreed, if the new switch kills the power then all the better....

I still think you need to fix it.... :lol: and I guess that time will come if ( heaven forbid...) you ned to carry out further repairs.....

BOL..... :zap:


Oh, forgot to ask, you fixed your aircraft rx yet?  :coffee:
eccentric millionaire financed by 'er indoors
Location:  Backworth Newcastle

Skype: chippiejnr

Offline wheeltapper

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
  • Country: gb
  • Spixworth Norfolk
Re: emergency switch.
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2016, 09:58:45 AM »


on the whole I think that a stop that stops it by shutting off the mains is better than no stop at all.

a very frustrated
Roy.

if anyone still insists that I fix it I invite them to try and get the damn thing out.

Agreed, if the new switch kills the power then all the better....

I still think you need to fix it.... :lol: and I guess that time will come if ( heaven forbid...) you ned to carry out further repairs.....

BOL..... :zap:


Oh, forgot to ask, you fixed your aircraft rx yet?  :coffee:


Lets hope that is a long way off.
as for the aircraft rx, there is a distinct failure to chooch.

I can't be bothered with it at the moment, to many other things to do now things are growing( weeds mainly) :lol: and I can get back in the shop.

electronics is a winter thing.

cheers
Roy
I used to be confused, now I just don't know.