Author Topic: first cnc  (Read 391 times)

Offline tom osselton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 819
  • Country: ca
first cnc
« on: August 12, 2017, 04:05:46 PM »
Well I've been talking about getting a cnc machine for sometime now and my son found this one at his work it is unpluged but works and comes with the transformer and chip conveyor as well as a collet chuck I'm not sure about collets though. The guy who fixes their machines says it is in good condition / acurate, it was sold as a employee deal for $5000.00 so here we go jumping in with both feet!  :D
We just got the riggers quote $1850.00 to move it and set it up or whatever they do, then its just a matter of figuring out how to run it I've been going over the manuals but a cnc for monkey's book wouldn't hurt!

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5427
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: first cnc
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2017, 04:16:53 PM »
Very nice you lucky so and so  :thumbup:

When you get bored with it send it over here - I'm vaguely looking for another CNC lathe having sold the Traub TNC350G  :clap:
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline chipenter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 707
  • Country: gb
Re: first cnc
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2017, 02:18:30 AM »
the book in mentioned is still in copyright and the PDF is a bootleg copy this forum doesn't condone the spreading of such material  :wack: post removed by moderator  :dremel:
« Last Edit: August 13, 2017, 05:35:37 AM by PTsideshow »
Jeff

Offline tom osselton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 819
  • Country: ca
Re: first cnc
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2017, 06:44:31 PM »
Well it gets delivered tomorow around 10 am, then we shall see what power it needs they told my son 220 he's thinking single phase to the transformer I'm thinking 3 phase if so we will need a converter. What would be a good choice in that respect balanced for cnc and we will be adding a mill shortly too. Heres the plate on the transformer.

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5427
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: first cnc
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2017, 02:23:52 AM »
Well that plate certainly implies 3 phase.
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline ddmckee54

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Country: 00
Re: first cnc
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2017, 12:22:18 PM »
If I'm reading that name-plate correctly, you've got yourself a 30KVA 3 phase 480 volt primary to 240 volt auto transformer.  At least it looks like it says 30KVA.  According to my books you're looking at full load amperages of 36.1 in the 480 side and 72.2 on the secondary side.  That's kind of on the big side - but not huge.  What's that thing got, about a 20HP motor on the spindle?

Don
Too many irons, not enough fire.

Offline tom osselton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 819
  • Country: ca
Re: first cnc
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2017, 09:25:37 PM »
Well it has landed but had to come down the alley on the forklift
Thats my son in the t shirt.
We cleaned any remaining chips and coolant tank then installed the conveyor.
We also were given a few soft jaws!
The motor says it is 29.5 hp at 57 amps and we would like to get a mill with about  7.5 hp so what wil I need for power a 40hp converter?