Author Topic: Setting up a telly as a monitor  (Read 2255 times)

Offline Cymro

Setting up a telly as a monitor
« on: November 23, 2016, 07:26:20 AM »
As I get older and more decrepit my specs get ever more complex - you could start fires with them now. When I was a younger man I used a 12" monitor, then I graduated to a fancy 14" one. My last one was a 19" widescreen and it appeared that someone kept making everything on screen a bit smaller every day.

I bought a 20" non-widescreen LCD TV from a car boot sale a couple of years ago because it had a VGA input, but my graphics card didn't get on with it (got horizontal stripes all over the place . . . ) I updated the drivers for the card but no matter what I did  I still got the stripes. Nothing wrong with the TV - it worked OK on my wife's laptop so I shelved that idea for a while.

Then someone recently gave me a new video card - an NVIDIA Geforce 610GT with 1Gb of onboard memory and the capability to use great chunks of my 8Gb system memory at will. It comes equipped with an HDMI socket, so I plugged it into the giant HD TV in the living room to try it and sure enough it gave a great picture.

So now I started looking for a suitable (i.e. cheap . . . ) HD equipped TV to use as a monitor, and found a 22" Bush widescreen one which was 'HD Ready' for £20 on Preloved. Went and bought it, plugged it in and got a reasonable picture on it. Bit of overscan, but I played with the settings on the video card a bit and found that although the TV was showing 1080p @ 60Hz, the graphics card thought it was 30Hz. Quick click of the mouse and the overscan problem disappeared.