Author Topic: Modifying Flashlights ...  (Read 18734 times)

Offline wquiles

• Work and projects ...
Modifying Flashlights ...
« on: December 21, 2009, 11:45:19 AM »
Modifying flashlights - Part 1

by William Quiles

December 2009

Modifying a flashlight is something that can be rewarding, fun, practical, challenging, and even dangerous; covering very small lights using a single 5mm LED (Light Emitting Diode), all the way to multiple high power LED's (or very high power incandescent bulbs) to create multi thousand lumen “torches”. Although there are plenty of cheap, reasonable priced, and expensive off-the-shelf lights available to suit every need imaginable, there is something unique about modifying something and making in your own – something that brings you pride when you can answer: “yes, I did that myself!”.

I have been modifying flashlights for myself and others for about 5 years now (since late 2004), so I have of course developed some preferences along the way, which of course bias my point of view, and the recommendations I would give somebody else. I am a beginner machinist with a lathe, mill, and band saw, and I also have a full electronics bench as I am also an Engineer (BSEE and MSEE), so I perhaps have a different take on things, which will of course bias how I look at any project, be it on machining, electronics, flashlights, etc.., so please keep that in mind as you read this.  You can see a list of most of my projects here at the CandlePowerForums, which is a great site to learn/share everything/anything about flashlights, illumination, technology, etc.:

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showpost.php?p=3081570&postcount=76