Author Topic: The Sajo mill is here  (Read 86855 times)

Offline Trion

The Sajo mill is here
« on: January 21, 2010, 04:19:31 PM »
The mill arrived yesterday night, so I thought I'd start a thread about it here. Will be writing the thread similarly to the lathes thread, as a project of the machine and how I try to improve it. I am a newb to milling, so I'll be asking a lot of questions. In return, I'll take a lot of pictures hoping to entertain and possibly inspire some of you :dremel:

Short facts on the machine:
Sajo UF 52 Dual Mill
Year of make: 1971
Table size 1250x300mm (49,2"x11,8")
Feed on all axes, movement X/Y/Z 850/210/465mm.
Vertical and horizontal spindle are driven by separate engines 5 and 5,5hp respectively.
ISO 40 Spindles

Yeah, I know, I know  :worthless: ......

The machine came by truck, and a friend of mine was so kind to lend me his tractor. It's still snowy outside, and the road was bumpy so I drove it to it's home at a carefull 0,9km/h :coffee:

Everything went well, and the machine found it's place in the workshop

Machine tag

Some details of the machine:
The table had a few marks on it

If I have understood it right, then this is a small oil pump to lubricate the table and ways! It is ment for extra lubrication, while there is said to be some sort of permanent lubrication system that is activated by table movement. Not sure on this though..

Buttons to run the machine

Oil level for the table

The feed has built in end stop's on all axes :thumbup:

Lever for X-feed

And this is where the end stops put the lever out of feed mode. To my surprise, the table has a degree scale, which could mean that it is possible to swing the table :beer:

Front of the table. The lever to the right with the arrow behind has yet to reveal it's function, just like that flat screw sticking out of the dust cover..

Beneath the table