Author Topic: Tubing bender for the V-twin engine  (Read 14932 times)

Offline gbritnell

Tubing bender for the V-twin engine
« on: March 02, 2010, 09:16:12 PM »
 The following is a tutorial on the construction of the tubing bender required to do the stainless tubing on the V-twin engine but first a little bit of background information is needed.
 Having built and used a bender in the past I knew somewhat of the results of bending stainless and copper tubing. With that in mind I wanted a tool that would bend as smooth a radius as I could get, with no distortion. In conversation with another builder I also wanted to try and use a low temperature alloy (Cerrosafe, Cerrobend) to fill the tubes prior to bending. I had heard of several different methods but this seemed like the best way to go. I had worked with this alloy as a spotting plug when I worked as a metal patternmaker but had never used it for this purpose. S
 Somewhere I read that the minimum bending radius, wall thickness dependent, is 2-1/2 times the tubing radius. In that case I would need a bending plate with a radius of .938. When I layed it out it looked a little small, seat of the pants determination, so I increased it to 1.34 centerline radius. That was the largest radius I could use and still get everything to fit.
 Normally I would have made everything from steel but being as this bender would have limited use I decided to go with aluminum for the plate and clamp strap. The first pictures are the plate layed out and being squared up.

The next step was to pick up the edges with the edge finder so I could put all the mounting holes in, three for the clamping bar, one for the clamp strap and the large center hole (.500) for the pivot post.

With those finished I put the radius into the long edges with a .375 ball mill