Author Topic: Threading by hand  (Read 32927 times)

Offline wongster

Threading by hand
« on: June 17, 2010, 06:34:28 AM »
Hello,

I'm pretty new to this.  Please go easy with me ok?

I'm in the process of making the brass torch as my first real project.  The main body turned out ok but I am now stuck with the cap.  After getting it ready for threading I find that I'm not able to hold the M10 die square to the shaft.  The 1st pic shows the cap ready to be threaded.  The 2nd shows the failed attempt to put the thread on.

I've not started with the Die Holder.  Thought of getting this over first before I attempt that.  Anyone has a trick or 2 when threading by hand?

Regards,
Wong

Offline colin563

Re: Threading by hand
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2010, 06:41:54 AM »

Offline No1_sonuk

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2010, 08:08:30 AM »
Not sure if you can do it with your machine, but I have used the front of the tailstock quill to get dies on squarely.
See attached pic.
In that pic (grabbed from someone else's site), he's using a collet chuck in the tail stock, rather than the front of the quill.  However, the front of the quill should do a good enough job, assuming it's big enough.

WRT the die holder referenced by colin563:
If you can't find one locally, there are plenty of online ideas for making your own.

Offline wheeltapper

• Spixworth Norfolk
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2010, 08:28:57 AM »
if the quill isn't big enough pop the tailstock chuck in and wind the jaws right into the body.

Roy
I used to be confused, now I just don't know.

lordedmond

« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2010, 09:11:39 AM »
Why not screw cut it in the lathe , good practice for future work . finish with a die if you want

then it will be square and the correct tightness

Offline wongster

« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2010, 09:13:35 AM »
Maybe I should cut it on my lathe.  I've this threading attachment still in the box. Have to read up on how to install it.  The spindle motor has to be removed for this to work.