Author Topic: Another Canadian happy to have found this site!  (Read 3236 times)

Offline fatal-exception

Another Canadian happy to have found this site!
« on: August 20, 2010, 11:02:56 AM »
Greetings from Saskatoon! I'm really happy to have stumbled upon this site. I was looking for some completed examples of the Gingery Shaper and somehow ended up here.

I'm really impressed with the amount of knowledge on here, not to mention the generosity of the members. I'm on several other boards like CNC Zone, Practical Machinist, and a few other, but they just don't seem to have the content that this board has. This obviously has everything to do with the quality of members here! I see a few familiar handles here from other members of the CNC Zone. Hi to all of you.

In a way, I wish I wouldn't have found this site, my list of projects has grown a great deal over the last few days. That's OK though, never an idle moment in the shop.

So just a bit about me, I'm a mechanical designer by day and night. My employer pays me to tinker with machinery design ideas, mainly using Solidworks. I machine by the moonlight and make money doing so, mostly plastics in small production runs. I've been machining for about 5 years in which time I started with an X2 and 7x10 and have grown to a wide array of tools. Currently I have 2 X2's, both CNC, still have the 7x10, 13x24 (probably my favorite tool), 24x24 gantry milling machine, cnc rotab, mig/stick, all the main woodworking tools, ect. Never enough tools as most of you know...

Anyways, glad to be here and hope that I can be of help.

Paul

Offline slowcoach

Re: Another Canadian happy to have found this site!
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2010, 11:12:44 AM »
Welcome aboard! I too use Solidworks at work, its a fantastic bit of software, it makes my life sooo much easier when drawing up a design  :D

Rob  :thumbup:

Offline Stilldrillin

• Global Moderator
  • Staveley, Derbyshire. England.
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2010, 12:30:11 PM »