Author Topic: Introduction: Dutch living in London  (Read 6235 times)

Offline AcieraF3

Introduction: Dutch living in London
« on: April 28, 2011, 05:42:31 AM »
Hi there Modders,

Please allow me to introduce myself to this wonderful forum. I am Teun and at the moment living in London but originally from the great Netherlands. I will be back home this summer and fortunately will be able to machine  again. Living in London was a nice experience but it deprived me from my metalworking (cold-turkey). I am a hobby machinist without proper training so I expect to learn al lot from you all.

I own a Boley 5LZ lathe and a Aciera F3 milling machine, both old, but somehow I like old machines. I am interested in building tools and engines and the projects I was busy with when I left the Netherlands where a two cylinder vertical steam engine (plans and building instructions by Bogstandard (very nice drawings by the way)) and the pressure-controlled IC-engine by Jan Ridder.

The most challenging on both projects were, at least for me, to get a proper fit between cylinder and piston, so I am very interested in how you guys find solutions without very expensive honing tools. Or maybe I am just to perfectionist about it and not able to judge which tolerances are allowed.

Anyway, looking forward to be a member of this forum and learn a lot.

By the way: reading the welcome message and the do's and don't's I was a bit boggled by the fact that RESPECT is one of the DON'T's!! Probably a mistake and meant was Disrespect. Please, see this as my first contribution, I am probably better with language then with machining.

Teun

Offline Bogstandard

• Bogs Group
Re: Introduction: Dutch living in London
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2011, 06:15:24 AM »
Teun,

I think where you got the wrong idea from is because we don't go in for hero worship on here, unlike other forums. Everyone is classed the same, whether experienced or not.