Author Topic: Adding a DRO to a 3 in 1  (Read 2383 times)

Offline sbwhart

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3490
  • Country: gb
  • Smile, Be Happy, Have Fun and Rock Until you Drop
Adding a DRO to a 3 in 1
« on: December 21, 2008, 08:24:37 AM »
Hi Chaps

Thought I'd show you a Mod that I recently carried out on my 3 in 1. One draw back with the mill head is the course feed it's graduated in 1mm steps on my machine anything less than this you've got to guess at so prompted by an article of Bogs  :smart: I decided to fit a DRO to my machine.

One thing i hate is to cut lumps out of and drill holes in a machine I try to avoid it as much as posible :borg: so was pleased when I was able to fit the DRO using existing holes in the machine, all that was required was a mounting block made out of a chunk of ally a few cap screws, a modified clamp bolt and a long grub screw, and a bit of care getting it square to the table. The photos show the MOD without any more explination required.







Its worked great

 :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:


 :wave:
Have

Fun

Stew
A little bit of clearance never got in the road
 :wave:

Location:- Crewe Cheshire

Offline Bernd

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Country: us
  • 1915 C Cab
    • Kingstone Model Works
Re: Adding a DRO to a 3 in 1
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2008, 01:47:56 PM »
Nice mod Stew. Looks nice.

Bernd
You can't fix "STUPID".

Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5188
  • Country: us
Re: Adding a DRO to a 3 in 1
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2008, 11:27:47 PM »
Pretty cool Stew! Looks well thought out, Keep it up.

Eric
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline Darren

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3800
  • N/Wales
Re: Adding a DRO to a 3 in 1
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2008, 01:49:57 PM »
Brilliant Stew, pic's say so much.....thanks for sharing... :thumbup:
You will find it a distinct help… if you know and look as if you know what you are doing. (IRS training manual)

Offline Bourne Bill

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Adding a DRO to a 3 in 1
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2009, 03:27:28 PM »
nice job. I put them on all 3 axis on my mill.
Life is short, eat dessert first...........

bogstandard

  • Guest
Re: Adding a DRO to a 3 in 1
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2009, 04:25:33 PM »
Ahah! A pi**ing contest, got to get me some of that.

I've got them on all four of my mills axis, and on four axis on the lathe.

I can't find anywhere else to stick them.


Bogs

Offline Darren

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3800
  • N/Wales
Re: Adding a DRO to a 3 in 1
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2009, 05:18:27 PM »
Oh surely you can think of somewhere John  :lol:
You will find it a distinct help… if you know and look as if you know what you are doing. (IRS training manual)