Author Topic: Hello hello helloooo  (Read 4676 times)

Offline Barker 5x24

Hello hello helloooo
« on: October 25, 2011, 02:34:39 AM »
Another introduction  :beer:

Found this site after following a thread about the flip up screw cutting tool holder on Model Engineer

Anyway I'm John, not an engineer in any way by trade or profession (I'm a chartered waste manager procuring waste treatment plants) but I am a motorcyclist who has progressed from mechanicking newbie (can now strip and rebuild an engine) to machining newbie.

Have an old 1947 Barker roundbed lathe and a Chester Champion mill/drill both converted to 3 phase so I can use variable speed to try an improve my cutting and finishing. Also got MMA and MIG welders.

So far I have been building tooling - spindle adapter for the Chester to accommodate the shorter fatter spindle on the 3 phase motor and adapt a taper boss pulley in place of the cone original; new base for a Picador drill grinding jig that I got cheap of ebay 'cos it was missing its base; tailstock die holder; collets so I can use various odds and sods of tooling which I have acquired in my Posilock collet chuck. Currently attempting a Frankenstein dividing head (Harold Hall design) with change wheel banjo (Sparey design) as I don't fancy tackling worm wheels yet!

Ultimate aim is to make spacers and other adapters to fit the front end (forks, yokes, brakes) from a 2008 ZX14 and swingarm from a 2004 ZX10R onto my 1999 ZX7R Kawasaki to modernise its looks. After that better looking wheels will follow once funds allow.

Right that's me then that is, I'll apologise now for any dumb questions that may be forthcoming  :hammer:

John

Offline Marauder

Re: Hello hello helloooo
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2011, 03:54:37 AM »
Hi and welcome.

Offline spuddevans

• Global Moderator
  • Portadown, Northern Ireland
    • My Photo website
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2011, 04:07:30 AM »