Author Topic: would this be an acceptable way to mount small work pieces in a lathe...?  (Read 9093 times)

Offline jonogt

I'm just getting into machining, and one of the things I've found sort of annoying is that quite a bit of the material is unavailable for turning because the chuck is in the way.  This is only an issue for me because I'm on sort of a budget and only want to use the amount of material I'll actually be turning. 

what I have in mind is getting a piece of steel stock, like 1" dia by 8" long, and turning the front half of it down to where I can put standard half inch male bolt threads on it.  When I want to turn a part, I'll put it in the chuck and drill/tap it for matching half inch female threads.  Then I'll just put the male threaded piece I made in the chuck and screw my work piece on to it.  Since I drilled it on the lathe it will be true, the direction of the threading will keep it tight, and the only waste will be the short portion that I drilled and tapped.

The setback I can think of is the work piece might get screwed on excessively tight, but this could probably be remedied by putting a rubber grommet or something in before screwing it on.

What do you guys think?

Offline Bernd

• Madmodder Committee
  • 1915 C Cab
    • Kingstone Model Works
Re: would this be an acceptable way to mount small work pieces in a lathe...?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2009, 09:33:37 PM »
jonogt,

Have you ever heard of the term "turning between centers'?

This method allows you to used the length of material that is required by the job. What you need to do is to center drill both ends and then put the part between centers in the lathe to turn you part.

This is just one method. You will probably get many different answers here.

I realize that it may be difficullt to visualize what discribed above so will do a set up and take some pics. Check back in a day or so.

Bernd
Route of the Black Diamonds

bogstandard

« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2009, 09:48:47 PM »