Author Topic: Is there a way to increase the type size?  (Read 3424 times)

Offline vtsteam

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4707
  • Country: us
  • Republic of Vermont
Is there a way to increase the type size?
« on: March 14, 2013, 01:48:46 PM »
The type size on this forum using my Mozilla based browser is tiny.

I looked in my Account Profile, and there are adjustments for "look and feel" but those don't include increasing type size.

When I say tiny, I mean a measured screen font of 20 characters per inch on my laptop's 15.5"  1366 x 768 monitor.

Other fora are a lot more readable for me -- HMEM for example measures 13 CPI. That's on the same display.

So I'm wondering -- is it just my computer, or do others have the same problem?

I know I can alter the browser's zoom setting, but then every other website is affected, too.

If it isn't the same for others, maybe it's a font rendering problem. Which might explain why HMEM shows up larger (if it uses a different font than my browser assigns to madmod.

Thanks!
I love it when a Plan B comes together.

Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5163
  • Country: us
Re: Is there a way to increase the type size?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2013, 02:10:30 PM »
it usually is a browser issue. The font size here is the same as HMEM. They look identical in size to me from IE, FireFox and Chrome.

Have you tried a different browser?

Here are some things that may help...

Tip: If you have a mouse with a wheel and are using any of the below browsers, you can increase and decrease the size of your fonts in your browser by holding down the Ctrl key, and while continuing to hold down the key, move the mouse wheel up or down.

Mozilla Firefox users

To increase, decrease, or change the default font in Mozilla Firefox, follow the below steps.

Open Mozilla Firefox.
Click Tools.
Click Options.
Within the Options window, click the Content button.
Within the content section you will be able to specify the default font type as well as the font size. In addition to being able to change these two settings, you can also click the Advanced button and get many more settings, such as the resolution and the minimum font size to use.
Note: Mozilla Firefox also supports the tip mentioned at the beginning of this document.
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5163
  • Country: us
Re: Is there a way to increase the type size?
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2013, 02:12:12 PM »
I just tried the ctrl/wheel trick in FireFox. I was able to shrink/increase font size on MM without changing the size of other tabs open...

Eric
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline sparky961

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Country: ca
Re: Is there a way to increase the type size?
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2013, 03:40:18 PM »
While we're on the topic of font size, I notice while browsing the forum on my Android phone that some posts have tiny text and others are huge.  Anyone else find this?  Any solution?

Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5163
  • Country: us
Re: Is there a way to increase the type size?
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2013, 03:48:58 PM »
While we're on the topic of font size, I notice while browsing the forum on my Android phone that some posts have tiny text and others are huge.  Anyone else find this?  Any solution?

that is strange. Are you using tapatalk?
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline vtsteam

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4707
  • Country: us
  • Republic of Vermont
Re: Is there a way to increase the type size?
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2013, 04:29:16 PM »
Well Eric, I run Mozilla Seamonkey on Linux, so all is different. But you did help me fix it.

Seamonkey is a Mozilla browser, very similar to Firefox (same core) but is an all-in-one app (browser, mail, news, WYSIWYG html authoring) -- very compact. Basically a current version of Netscape (if you remember it).

Anyway being similar to Firefox, pretty much what you suggested works to increase font size, actually on a stored per-site basis, as follows (for anyone else with Seamonkey)

Go to:
Edit>
Preferences>
Appearance>
Content>
Check "Zoom only text instead of full pages"
Check "Remember zoom levels on per site basis"
Close>

Then just set the zoom level on any website where you want to change text size.  That setting will remain until you change it. And for that website only.

Ahhhhhh, easy reading!


Thanks Eric, for pointing me in the right direction!
I love it when a Plan B comes together.

Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5163
  • Country: us
Re: Is there a way to increase the type size?
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2013, 04:59:04 PM »
...
Basically a current version of Netscape (if you remember it).
...
Thanks Eric, for pointing me in the right direction!

Yup. I remember it.

Not a problem.

Eric
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline sparky961

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Country: ca
Re: Is there a way to increase the type size?
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2013, 09:40:55 PM »

that is strange. Are you using tapatalk?

Nope, just the latest (almost) version of Firefox for Android.  I've attached a screen shot showing how I saw this thread when I opened it this evening.

Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5163
  • Country: us
Re: Is there a way to increase the type size?
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2013, 09:57:07 PM »
Thats weird.

How does it look with the default browser in Android?
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline sparky961

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Country: ca
Re: Is there a way to increase the type size?
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2013, 10:19:30 PM »
Sorry, someone else will have to chime in on that one.  I've disabled the default browser.

It's not a major issue, just thought I'd bring it up while we were on the subject.  I had forgotten that it acts strange until this post brought it to mind.

Maybe I should just give in to the nag screens and use Tapatalk.

Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5163
  • Country: us
Re: Is there a way to increase the type size?
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2013, 10:38:17 PM »
Sorry, someone else will have to chime in on that one.  I've disabled the default browser.

It's not a major issue, just thought I'd bring it up while we were on the subject.  I had forgotten that it acts strange until this post brought it to mind.

Maybe I should just give in to the nag screens and use Tapatalk.

I checked on my phone... it looks good. I wonder if there is a setting somewhere.
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline sparky961

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Country: ca
Re: Is there a way to increase the type size?
« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2013, 11:08:09 PM »
Well I feel stupid... I should have Googled it before mentioning it.

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=748026

Turns out it's a known bug.


Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5163
  • Country: us
Re: Is there a way to increase the type size?
« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2013, 11:18:10 PM »
It happens. I do things like that all the time.

Sucks it is a bug, but glad to know it isn't the site.

Eric
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline sparky961

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Country: ca
Re: Is there a way to increase the type size?
« Reply #13 on: March 15, 2013, 10:10:11 AM »
At the risk of getting off topic, I can report that Chrome/Android has the same behaviour.  I haven't Googled it, but I'd be willing to bet they share some genetics.

Opera Mini/Android renders it consistently, but overall it feels a bit "laggy" and the pinch-to-zoom doesn't allow combined scrolling.

Considering the error was first reported at least 2 years ago, I doubt this will be fixed in the Mozilla code base any time soon.