Author Topic: Rotary Broacher  (Read 3428 times)

Offline Trebor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Country: gb
Rotary Broacher
« on: August 02, 2013, 01:19:25 PM »
Can anyone tell me if its possible to buy a rotary broacher in the UK ?

Offline NeoTech

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 828
  • Country: se
    • Roughedge Hobbyworks
Re: Rotary Broacher
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2013, 01:28:14 PM »
Make one? Its a good little project. :)
Machinery: Optimum D320x920, Optimum BF20L, Aciera F3. -- I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work. http://www.roughedge.se/blogg/

Offline Trebor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Country: gb
Re: Rotary Broacher
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2013, 01:45:14 PM »
If only I knew how !! Just found this but It looks expensive

     


« Last Edit: August 02, 2013, 02:07:57 PM by dsquire »

Offline tekfab

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
Re: Rotary Broacher
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2013, 02:06:07 PM »
Did our very own Rob Wilson not make one ? i think it would be somewhere in the Project logs if you look.

Mike

Offline NeoTech

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 828
  • Country: se
    • Roughedge Hobbyworks
Re: Rotary Broacher
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2013, 02:09:25 PM »


http://www.homemodelenginemachinist.com/f12/rotary-broach-tool-design-14076/

Theres a cad file i n the HME topic regarding wobble / rotary broaches..

Basicly a two part tool back end is 90 degree flat with the chuck, the front part is set 1 degree off, the tool rotates on a throwout bearing and radial bearing.
Machinery: Optimum D320x920, Optimum BF20L, Aciera F3. -- I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work. http://www.roughedge.se/blogg/

Offline NeoTech

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 828
  • Country: se
    • Roughedge Hobbyworks
Re: Rotary Broacher
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2013, 02:11:09 PM »
http://www.homemadetools.net/rotary-broaching-tool

Here you have another design on the same issue. =)
Machinery: Optimum D320x920, Optimum BF20L, Aciera F3. -- I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work. http://www.roughedge.se/blogg/

Offline John Swift

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
  • Country: england
Re: Rotary Broacher
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2013, 02:22:50 PM »

Hi Trebor

yes , you can buy them in the UK
first web search result ---  http://www.repco-tech.co.uk/broaching-attachments/

how many thousands of parts are you making ?

Offline Trebor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Country: gb
Re: Rotary Broacher
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2013, 02:43:29 PM »
Theres no indication on prices !! I would love having a go at making one but at the moment ai only have a lathe and a few tools  :bang:

Offline NeoTech

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 828
  • Country: se
    • Roughedge Hobbyworks
Re: Rotary Broacher
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2013, 02:45:10 PM »
All you need is actually the lathe.. Before i got my mill i did all kinds of exploratory operations on my lathe, with setting up the work on faceplate holding endmills in the ordinary tool holder, drill chucks and whatever..   To be honest.. The lathe is a mill lying down basicly..
Machinery: Optimum D320x920, Optimum BF20L, Aciera F3. -- I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work. http://www.roughedge.se/blogg/

Offline John Swift

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
  • Country: england
Re: Rotary Broacher
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2013, 03:39:10 PM »

Hi Trebor

I suspect a second hand one will be a few hundred pounds and a new one if you have to ask whats the price you can't afford it for hobby use

years ago I watched an EMI-MEC sprint ,  broach 3/8" square holes in the parts it was making
the job run for days
 ( automated capstan lathe  with a 3 HP spindle motor if I remember correctly)

for a diy broach look here -
http://madmodder.net/index.php/topic,6165.msg70542.html#msg70542

    John