Author Topic: A Nice Cold Ohio Winter Welcome!  (Read 4526 times)

Offline MetalMuncher

A Nice Cold Ohio Winter Welcome!
« on: February 16, 2014, 05:12:13 PM »
Hi folks! I'm a retired trucker here in Ohio USA, who got into this addictive hobby back in December 2003. Saw a newspaper sale flyer for a Homier Tool show and while reading it noticed they had a small (7x10) metal lathe for only $199. (Those were the days, eh? Crazy how much these Sieg tools have inflated since then!) Lathes had always intrigued me, so I took a pro toolmaker (good friend of mine) along to check it out, because beyond the intrigue, I was totally clueless. Being a pro, he wasn't too impressed ( I had no idea why at the time) but I decided to buy it anyway.

Once bitten, I started down this slippery slope of acquiring and making tooling and modifications to improve the little beast's abilities. The very first thing I learned, with my friend's tips, was how to single point turn threads (which many would agree is a rather advanced topic on these hobby machines). Thank goodness for the internet, and websites by folks like Frank Hoose who paved the way with lots of information!

By April of 2004 I found myself buying a Speedway Mini-Mill at another Homier show, and have watched its price double over the years. I would never have gotten into this hobby with the machine pricing as it is today, so I am grateful I did it back then. It's been a fun and interesting 10 years!