Author Topic: Heilan Lassie Steam locomotive  (Read 9362 times)

Offline steamup

Heilan Lassie Steam locomotive
« on: April 15, 2014, 06:46:57 AM »
 I am new to this game by the standards of the guys on this site so I am looking for some advice.
I enjoy making steam launches which have provided me with the opportunity to develop a new passion for steam.
I purchased a set of castings for this locomotive some time ago with a vague intention of building some time in the future.
That time has arrived I think.
I have slide valve cylinder castings and piston cylinder castings for this loco. Which way do I go?
Mark

Offline Joe d

Re: Heilan Lassie Steam locomotive
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2014, 07:13:54 AM »
Hi Mark

I will be watching with pleasure once you get going, really like locomotives.

Others may have different ideas, but my advice would be to get the boiler done first (whether you are building it
yourself, or jobbing it out) as the finished dimension of this controls  the dimensions of many many other bits.

Either way, good luck, and keep the photos coming.

Cheers, Joe

lordedmond

« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2014, 07:15:25 AM »
slowly

think about two to five years

you normally start with the tender , reason when you have the loco finished you will tend to rush the tender

they both are built stating with the frames , buffer beams ect then the wheels axle boxes and on

then you make the motion the quartering will be a challenge if you have not done it before ( go for Loctite for the wheels ) I do not know what size lathe you have but you will have to make up a jig to do it , right hand leads

a word of caution Curly ( LBSC ) cut a lot of corners with his methods particularly on the boiler front the design is not up to modern code Please liaze with your boiler inspector as to how to proceed ( he did not fit bushes just tapped the shell and screwed the fitting in )

in all its a fine loco to state again you start at the bottom and work up

Stuart