Author Topic: micro mill electricals problems, help please!!  (Read 43354 times)

Offline pmdevlin

micro mill electricals problems, help please!!
« on: December 17, 2014, 11:48:21 AM »
Hi all, I will set the scene! I'm pretty new at model engineering, and need some desperate help. I don't even know if I am posting the correct place, mods please move if applicable.

I was today using my micro mill, low rpm, milling some plastic sheet, so no problems here. I bought this off a friend, a very talented engineer, and a regular on this forum, he passed away last year, so my predicament is that I cannot go back to him to talk about the mill he knew inside out. It had been modified to suit his disabilities, it is belt drive, and the control panel was moved away from the machine so he could reach it. I believe its a seig machine, they are the instructions he gave me with it, although it has no markings on it. All I can say is he only used good stuff!

So after a bit of use, the fuse in the control panel blew, I changed it, it blew again. I have inspected the motor, taken it apart, all is good, no binding, brushes good, no signs of excessive heat,. all windings seem to be ok. The connecting block between the control panel and machine is good. Reassembled, fuse blew again.

So, with control panel disconnected from the motor, I can turn on, and turn up potentiometer, nothing is amiss. When connected to the motor, the motor immediately spins up with the potentiometer in the off position, and the fuse blows. I assume with potentiometer in off position, motor should not spin up?