Author Topic: Hello from Oregon!  (Read 6428 times)

Offline Anasazi

Hello from Oregon!
« on: December 25, 2014, 08:33:07 PM »
Hello from Astoria Oregon.  I am new to machining.  Purchased  a 1947 9" South Bend lathe in excellent condition, I am the second owner!
I built a new bench for it and then had to take about 5 months break due to cancer treatments.  Feeling better now and going to head back to the shop to have some fun!  Merry Christmas to all!  The photo below is as purchased.  I drove to Arizona for this one!  The hollow oil soaked door needed replacing so I built a new bench.  I used old growth strait grain Douglas Fur for the top.  It is stout now.
link below for a few picts of my lathe and bench.

http://s1324.photobucket.com/user/Anasazi2/library/40s%2050s%20Navy%20Housing%20Metal%20Detecting%20Finds/Machining

Offline dsquire

• In Memoriam
  • Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Re: Hello from Oregon!
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2014, 08:50:46 PM »
Hi Anasazi

Welcome to MadModder and a Merry Chrisdtmas to you as well.

Glad to hear that you are feeling better and are ready to put those tools to use making some swarf. If you have any questions just ask as there is usually someone around to answer or comment on them.  :D :D

Cheers  :beer:

Don
Good, better, best.
Never let it rest,
'til your good is better,
and your better best

Offline Anasazi

« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2014, 09:10:26 PM »
Thanks!  I have been really wanting to get back at it.  Thinking about making a ER 32 chuck for it, spindle 1 1/2 "x 8 TPI , only snag is the metric threads I need to cut for the cap.  Metric transposing gear set not in my stocking this year.   I'll figure it out.

Offline doubleboost

• Madmodder Committee
  • Newcastle Upon Tyne
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2014, 05:40:16 AM »
Hi
Welcome to the forum
That is a nice looking lathe you have
John

Offline DMIOM

• Isle of Man
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2014, 07:11:21 AM »
Hi Anasazi & welcome to our mad world  :mmr: