Author Topic: Hello!  (Read 4054 times)

Offline Garyrmck

Hello!
« on: February 27, 2015, 12:55:22 AM »
Hi,

I have just joined this forum after looking at a few others. Found this one seemed to be the friendliest to newbies....so I joined.

I am new to metalwork, am in the process of setting up a workshop for when I retire in a year or two. I currently have a Seig SC4/510 HiTorque lathe, a 6 x 4 bandsaw, grinder, Pedestal drill and a lot of bits and pieces. I now have a SIEG SX2P HiTorque Mill on order and will have to wait a couple of weeks before it arrives. I aiom to convert the mill to cnc as soon as possible, the niceties like ball screws will have to wait a bit....

My other hobby is astronomy and I have a small observatory in the back yard equipped for astrophotography. I intend in future to make, rather than buy, what are sometimes very expensive "bits".

In the future I have daydreams of making a live steam engine...but that will have to wait. For now I just have to learn how to use the tools I've got....

cheers
Gary in Geelong, Australia

Offline awemawson

• Global Moderator
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Hello!
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2015, 02:42:51 AM »
Hi Gary welcome aboard, as you say, they are a friendly ( and very helpful) bunch here. I gravitated here as there isn't the bickering that sadly seems prevalent on other forums.
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline Meldonmech

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2015, 09:18:27 AM »

Hi Garry, welcome to MadModder, looking forward to seeing some of the equipment you will be making.

Cheers David

Offline vtsteam

• Global Moderator
  • Republic of Vermont
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2015, 10:15:03 AM »
Hi Gary, welcome!  :beer:
I love it when a Plan B comes together!
Steve
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sDubB0-REg

Offline spuddevans

• Global Moderator
  • Portadown, Northern Ireland
    • My Photo website
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2015, 03:44:52 PM »
Hello and welcome  :mmr:

Tim