Author Topic: CNC Conversion lots of Questions!  (Read 12584 times)

Offline Garyrmck

CNC Conversion lots of Questions!
« on: February 26, 2015, 05:07:33 PM »
Hello all,

this is my first post here so please be gentle !!

I am fairly new to metal work. In preparation for retirement in 2 years (or earlier if I'm lucky). I've been putting together a small workshop. All my life life I've worked with my head, but really wanted to work with my hands!!! So now I'm going to do it. At this point I have a SIEG SC4/510 HiTorque Lathe, a 6x4 Metal cutting bandsaw grinder, pedestal drill and lots of bits and pieces.

I would now like to buy a small milling machine. I am restricted in size by the space I have, and the ability to get the mill into place. The mill I am interested in is this one:

http://www.ausee.com.au/shop/category.aspx?catid=64

Now I know this is small, but most of the things I'm interested in are small - telescope parts (my hobby is astronomy and I have my own small observatory in the back yard). In the future I have dreams of building a live steam train when I've developed the skills necessary. The mill will be converted to CNC immediately (I work in computers).This mill has a higher speed than the SX2 here:

http://www.ausee.com.au/shop/category.aspx?catid=59

For small parts (that may have slots that are only 1-2mm wide), would the higher speed be a great advantage, or would I be better to get the larger mill?

The smaller mill has the advantage of full conversion plans being available here:

http://www.siegind.com/news_detail/newsId=33.html

It also has a fixed column and a larger table than the usual X1 mills.

Given my usage, would the smaller machine be OK? I figure if it is CNC, I can take shallow cuts without effort on my part. My ambition is to let it do the work, whilst I sit back with a scotch watching it........

Now would the following motor / driver kits be OK for either of these mills?