Author Topic: Me  (Read 4861 times)

Offline OgreOwner

Me
« on: April 28, 2009, 07:20:08 PM »
Hello all.  I am Karl.  I teach High School Science, the easy stuff like Physics and Chemistry.  To keep my brain working, I research alternative energy.  I have found quite a few patents that I would like to make working models of, so I am putting together a machine shop.  Being a teacher, I am pretty poor.  Most of my tooling comes from Harbor Freight.  I started with a 5980 Machine tool and found out why you do not want to hold an end mill in a Drill chuck :bang:.  It missed me when the Drill chuck came loose from the arbor and went bouncing and twirling down to the ground.  I now have a full set of end mill holders and had a 3/4 inch holder ground down to MT2 so that I can use big stuff and take very small cuts.  I now have the micro mill and micro lathe.  I want to set the mill up as a CNC machine and got the lathe so that I can make threads.  I have a set of lathe tool holders that I love - they use the TNMG inserts.  I now subscribe to HSM, Machinists Workshop and Digital Machinst.  My metal shop will be in the garage as soon as I can get it cleaned out - everything is good and buried at the moment.  Same goes for the Wood shop in an old chicken coop out back.  Good thing summer is just about here and school is just about over.

Karl

Offline Divided he ad

• WARNING: LIKES SHINEY THINGS
  • The Collective
  • Between Chester, Wrexham, ruthin & Holywell :-)
Re: Me
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2009, 07:42:36 PM »
Hi Karl  :wave:

Welcome to the collective :borg:

I'm going to use some of these  :beer: types of things here... If for no other reason than it's funny to see them all bouncing around on the screen!!  :D

Well.... Where do we start, Maybe  :mmr: followed by I'm sure from your intro that your going to have to go see the school nurse.... I'm afraid you have  :proj:  3 subscriptions.... You got it bad!!  :lol: