Author Topic: Hi there from yet another newbie  (Read 7291 times)

Offline spuddevans

• Global Moderator
  • Portadown, Northern Ireland
    • My Photo website
Hi there from yet another newbie
« on: May 03, 2009, 03:09:15 PM »
Hello there, I found this forum from a link over on HMEM where I've been mostly lurking for the last year. I am a relative newbie at engineering, I have a Seig x2 mini-mill and a Seig C2 mini-lathe which I'm just about getting used to.

I haven't made much yet, I've just been "playing" with the lathe and mill to try and get a handle on this engineering lark. I've made a couple of machine mods, a gas-spring-lift-thingy for the mill, a ball turner for the lathe (I need to rebuild it though). Mod's on the to-do list; Bogs vice stop, Belt-drive convertion for the mill, Brass gibs on lathe and mill, ER32 collet chuck for the lathe, fly cutter ( I dont have one yet and am scared to get one until the belt-drive mod is done as these X2 mills have fragile gears ), and then everything else I see on here and HMEM!!

I've downloaded and printed out Bogstandards "Paddleducks" engine plan book, and am gathering up some supplies to try my hand at my 1st real project. I dont know if I'm biting off more than I could chew but I'm thinking of adding ball-bearings to the bearing blocks for the crankshaft. I'm hoping to build it out of mainly brass and 303 stainless, hopefully it'll make a nice contrast of metals.

I'm hoping to get my belt-drive convertion done before starting the Paddleducks engine so I can use a fly cutter to prepare the stock.

Anyway, that's all I can think to say apart from thanks for having me, and while I am not the most frequent poster (as I have no experience yet and havent started any real projects) I hope to be able to share my learning experiences and gain from the collective wealth of experience and wisdom here.

Tim
« Last Edit: May 03, 2009, 03:11:14 PM by spuddevans »