Author Topic: CNC Mill - Finally!  (Read 9760 times)

Offline Brass_Machine

• Administrator
CNC Mill - Finally!
« on: May 20, 2016, 11:38:17 PM »
Hi all,

It has been a long time since I have posted a project on here. And this project has been a long time coming. I have been talking about this and gathering pieces for the past 4 years or so.

So the background on this one. I currently own (for the past 10 years) a Harbor Freight X2 mini mill. It as been modded... Belt drive, X and Y have been CNC'd (fignoggle plans), cheap Chinese scales and delrin anti-backlash nuts (again, Fignoggle). It has been a work horse for me. However, it is small. It does have the weak tilting column and required major tweaking ALL THE TIME.

Here it is in it's current state.

I had just recently thought about buying a Grizzly G0704 to CNC. A little bit bigger and supposedly, a bit better on the build quality. But, since I had already started buying parts for the upgrade, started buying parts for a CNC router and didn't feel like jumping on the G0704 band wagon, I decided to keep on with my current path of upgrading the X2.

My plan is this:

1. Use the SX2 base and table. This gives a table the is over 50% larger (supposedly) and increased range in the X and Y (30%). With some simple mods, I should get more!
2. Solid mount column from the SX2 (LMS Version). This will fix the flexiflyer column it has now.
3. Ballscrews
4. Dual airspring support for the head (instead of using a counter weight)
5. Brass gibs. Seems to be a popular mod... however, I am considering re cutting the ways to 60* and make sure everything is parallel and perpendicular.
6. Some type of auto or oneshot oil system
7. Coolant
8. New stand
9. Possibly a new motor (treadmill?), though I do have a new controller for the stock X2 motor.

Plus a few more things here and there.

Parts pile!

My first step, while I wait for stock and bearings, is to redesign the stepper mounts.

Eric
Science is fun.