Author Topic: parting off tool  (Read 5474 times)

Offline polecat

parting off tool
« on: September 15, 2016, 05:34:23 AM »
ok lads can you recomend a parting off tool for my c3 lathe 10mm shank and what speeds would you part off steel fast or slow i'm a beginner at this as you may sumise
polecat

Offline PekkaNF

Re: parting off tool
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2016, 08:17:35 AM »
10 mm shank is really small. I have about 150kg lathe with 550W induction motor, 20 mm shank for GTN2 inserts (Iscar) and justabout get near 50 mm in any material and 30+ mm on tempering steel. Top slide removed for rigidy.

* What material / what diameter?
* Are you willing to use any coolant?
* Are you willing to grind HSS?

Pekka

Offline polecat

« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2016, 09:30:00 AM »
i have a job i'm doing for my motorbike i need 2 shims of steel 19.6 mm od with id of 16mm i've done that bit ok but i need to part them off the tool i have now is not up to the job  hence asking about speeds and a new tool
i am a time served engraver so know about sharpening cutters /drills i thought a tungston parting tool would be better at doing steel or better still an insert tool please advise
thanks polecat

Offline John Rudd

« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2016, 12:02:05 PM »
You newd a machine that  is pretty rigid when it comes to parting off....

I also have a C3  ( Sieg) but even  with  a 2mm parting blade it struggles....yet my bigger lathe on a GTN3 insert is a breeze...(1.5kw motor with vfd... :) )

On a C3, I think I'd go for a GTN2 make sure everything is locked up tight and go for 200 rpm...add a bit of lube for good measure..
eccentric millionaire financed by 'er indoors

Offline bp

« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2016, 10:27:27 PM »