Author Topic: The basics  (Read 39399 times)

Offline Will_D

• National Homebrew Club of Ireland
The basics
« on: July 19, 2016, 05:00:39 PM »
First of all thanks to the mods for creating this new area.

I have been maching metal as a hobby for many many years and am quite computer literate.

Now all this talk of CNC has got me interested in spending more money on the hobby.

I have a Sieg SX2 Plus from Arc fitted with 3 axis magnetic DROs and am getting tired of twiddling the X- axis on long cuts.

So some form of stepper motor control may be needed for X & Y and maybe Z.

First major question is:

1. What about backlash in the feed screws? Does CNC and steppers etc aleviate the problem or do I first need to get rid of the backlash? Looking at the price of some ball screws it would be cheaper to just buy a new Mill!
Engineer and Chemist to the NHC.ie
http://www.nationalhomebrewclub.ie/forum/

Offline sparky961

Re: The basics
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2016, 05:24:29 PM »
Backlash is a bitc beast.

When machining by hand, you generally know which way the backlash is going and can compensate for it.  Most software allows for a backlash compensation but all that does is turn the crank enough to take up the backlash when you change directions.  You can't reliably cut circles and arcs with this because the cutting force will either push/pull the cutter into the backlash either before or after the compensation move happens.

That said, if you're taking light enough cuts that a bit of pressure on the gibs/locks can prevent the cutter from self-feeding, it can work ok.  Just don't get too excited about complex curvy shapes if you don't eliminate physical backlash first.  You can also use "CNC Assist" for some jobs, where you insert stops and comments like "LOCK THE Y AXIS" (do some machining with X) "UNLOCK THE Y AXIS" and so forth.