Author Topic: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller  (Read 180695 times)

Offline maxx2000

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: ru
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #900 on: March 06, 2018, 12:55:29 PM »
I did not notice such problems
Sorry for my english, this is Google translator

Offline ryan8

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #901 on: March 31, 2018, 07:21:37 PM »
Does anyone have any ideas as to what may cause an axis to become unresponsive while jogging it, using either the buttons or MPG? I've tried updating to Pandora with the same results.

Sporadically but very frequently, as I jog an axis, it would stop responding to inputs. Interestingly, other axes will still work, until they, too, suddenly become unresponsive. The issue is with the controller and not my drivers, as the DRO stops updating too. Interestingly, pressing reset (and or cutting power and restarting) will have it work again.

I'm wondering if it's some sort of interference or transient issue, although that shouldn't be possible given the optoisolated outputs and inputs.

Offline WeldingRod

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #902 on: April 09, 2018, 07:44:17 AM »
Does anyone have any ideas as to what may cause an axis to become unresponsive while jogging it, using either the buttons or MPG? I've tried updating to Pandora with the same results.

Sporadically but very frequently, as I jog an axis, it would stop responding to inputs. Interestingly, other axes will still work, until they, too, suddenly become unresponsive. The issue is with the controller and not my drivers, as the DRO stops updating too. Interestingly, pressing reset (and or cutting power and restarting) will have it work again.

I'm wondering if it's some sort of interference or transient issue, although that shouldn't be possible given the optoisolated outputs and inputs.
Ryan,
I've never seen that problem,  and I've certainly driven my axies around manually a bunch.
Rod

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk


Offline johnsattuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: gb
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #903 on: April 14, 2018, 03:04:23 PM »
I'm wondering if it's some sort of interference or transient issue, although that shouldn't be possible given the optoisolated outputs and inputs.

Optoisolaters give galvanic isolation and some degree of filtering, ( depending on their speed ), but they will pass a transient through if it has similar properties to a bona fide signal

Offline Will_D

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Country: ie
    • National Homebrew Club of Ireland
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #904 on: April 15, 2018, 05:58:57 AM »
Does anyone have any ideas as to what may cause an axis to become unresponsive while jogging it, using either the buttons or MPG? I've tried updating to Pandora with the same results.

Sporadically but very frequently, as I jog an axis, it would stop responding to inputs. Interestingly, other axes will still work, until they, too, suddenly become unresponsive. The issue is with the controller and not my drivers, as the DRO stops updating too. Interestingly, pressing reset (and or cutting power and restarting) will have it work again.

I'm wondering if it's some sort of interference or transient issue, although that shouldn't be possible given the optoisolated outputs and inputs.
I am starting to suffer this but only on the z axis. It will jog down but not up. Power off and wait resets it.

I am running the [Install_2018-01-21_91] new 2.1 version.

I may well go back to the stable 2017 version for 1.1
Engineer and Chemist to the NHC.ie
http://www.nationalhomebrewclub.ie/forum/

Offline blades

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: us
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #905 on: April 16, 2018, 08:17:52 PM »
... I've tried updating to Pandora with the same results.


So you're saying it started doing this when you were still using the OEM firmware?
Bill

- No best but better

Offline ryan8

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #906 on: April 22, 2018, 07:33:21 PM »

So you're saying it started doing this when you were still using the OEM firmware?

Yes; I was hoping it was a firmware issue that would go away if I updated.

Optoisolaters give galvanic isolation and some degree of filtering, ( depending on their speed ), but they will pass a transient through if it has similar properties to a bona fide signal

Ah, that makes sense. A guy on the tech support forums suggests that it could be phantom limit switches being triggered. Though I don't have limits enabled, it does fit with the "other axis will still work" weirdness.


I am starting to suffer this but only on the z axis. It will jog down but not up. Power off and wait resets it.

I am running the [Install_2018-01-21_91] new 2.1 version.

I may well go back to the stable 2017 version for 1.1

When it freezes, do your other axis still work?

Offline Will_D

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Country: ie
    • National Homebrew Club of Ireland
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #907 on: April 23, 2018, 05:23:03 AM »


I am starting to suffer this but only on the z axis. It will jog down but not up. Power off and wait resets it.

I am running the [Install_2018-01-21_91] new 2.1 version.

I may well go back to the stable 2017 version for 1.1

When it freezes, do your other axis still work?
Yes X and Y are unaffected
Engineer and Chemist to the NHC.ie
http://www.nationalhomebrewclub.ie/forum/

Offline Will_D

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Country: ie
    • National Homebrew Club of Ireland
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #908 on: April 23, 2018, 05:27:44 AM »
I suspect its connected with probing!

When Z+ stops working, if I do a probe Z+ it starts to probe DOWN at a stupidly slow rate! Its as if it thinks it has found the limit switch at Z+ and is now very very slowly coming off the micro-switch in the Z- direction ( as it should do fairly quickly) to the probe offset position (5mm in my case)

HTH Will

BTW the DoseDone forum has gone a bit quiet recently!!:

http://www.ddcnc.com/forum.php?mod=forumdisplay&fid=41
Engineer and Chemist to the NHC.ie
http://www.nationalhomebrewclub.ie/forum/

Offline WeldingRod

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #909 on: April 23, 2018, 07:44:52 AM »
I suspect its connected with probing!

When Z+ stops working, if I do a probe Z+ it starts to probe DOWN at a stupidly slow rate! Its as if it thinks it has found the limit switch at Z+ and is now very very slowly coming off the micro-switch in the Z- direction ( as it should do fairly quickly) to the probe offset position (5mm in my case)

HTH Will

BTW the DoseDone forum has gone a bit quiet recently!!:

http://www.ddcnc.com/forum.php?mod=forumdisplay&fid=41
I have noticed an axis stopping semi-mysteriously, but it's always been a triggered limit switch.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk


Offline ryan8

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #910 on: April 23, 2018, 12:20:51 PM »
I did have probing enabled with no probes connected. Disabled it in config - hope this fixes it and thanks for the suggestions!

Offline blades

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: us
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #911 on: April 30, 2018, 11:08:24 AM »
Hoping someone can help me out identifying this component. While making a new enclosure for my controller, I managed to fry it by attempting to share the same power supply with my G540.  :Doh:
It was a 48v power supply that I backed down to 32v (as low as it would go), but it must have gotten a spike and it literally blew this component. I've got it unsoldered from the board, and want to see if I can replace it. I can't read it clearly enough on the pics I've found. Any help with a better pic or actual part identification would be greatly appreciated! I'm guessing it's some sort of voltage regulator...

Bill

- No best but better

Offline maxx2000

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: ru
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #912 on: April 30, 2018, 11:48:30 AM »
XL2596S-5.0E1
Sorry for my english, this is Google translator

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5960
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #913 on: April 30, 2018, 12:14:00 PM »
Highly probable, as XL2596S-5.0E1 is a DC to DC converter so presumably was in the direct firing line from your higher voltage power supply.
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline blades

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: us
Re: DDCSV1.1 4 Axis controller
« Reply #914 on: April 30, 2018, 09:43:05 PM »
Many thanks guys!!
Bill

- No best but better