Author Topic: VFD motor controller help needed  (Read 5023 times)

Offline picclock

VFD motor controller help needed
« on: August 16, 2016, 08:13:50 AM »
Hi
I'm new to the VFD 3 phase thing. I'm using it to control a 1.5hp, 3 phase motor. The VFD model in question is a HY02D223B, a std 220V in, to three phase out 2.2kW controller. I can get the motor to start and run OK but it lacks torque. I can stop it easily with my hand holding a 100mm pulley. The motor is connected with three wires, each going to one end of the three windings. The other end of the winding are connected together and go nowhere else. I have measured the voltage across the output connections, phase to phase, and it is only 140V or so. Phase to motor winding common is around 90V.  The voltage is equal across all windings so its not a phase issue. 

My limited understanding of the way these things operate is that the mains is full wave rectified to produce +/- 310 volts which is then switched hi/lo or off using insulated gate bipolar transister. The power to the motor is then controlled by using the on/off ratio of the switches, which also helps to make a sine wave.

The vfd also has a torque compensation setting (Pn 13 - value 0-4) which I have set to 3.5. A note next to the setting indicates large parameters may damage the motor. This appears to be the only way to get some torque though nowhere near as much as it should be.

So far I am using the vfd front panel to do the controlling, so no issues there.

If anyone has one of these could you measure the phase to phase voltage to confirm if this is the problem or just a red herring ? Just measuring using a std multimeter on AC Volts.

Any help or info much appreciated.

Best Regards

picclock
Engaged in the art of turning large pieces of useful material into ever smaller pieces of (s)crap. (Ferndown, Dorset)

Offline philf

Re: VFD motor controller help needed
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2016, 08:24:49 AM »
Hi Piclock,