Author Topic: Edgwick lathe cross-slide nut replacement  (Read 9835 times)

Offline chrisnaborg

Edgwick lathe cross-slide nut replacement
« on: November 11, 2016, 08:54:02 AM »
Hi all I am new to this blog but it looks really informative and helpful. I am currently restoring an Albert Herbert gap-bed lathe built by Edgwick 6.5inch mk1.
I am finding difficulty to remove the brass cross-slide nut , has anyone worked on an Edwick lathe and maybe can help? When I am trying to pull out the stud from the front side it is hitting the intermediate gear of the automatic feed. If possible I am trying not to remove the top part of the saddle in order not to loose the setting..
I am really stuck please can anyone help? I have attached a picture of the lathe and two of the cross-slide nut from a top view and front view.

Thanks

Offline awemawson

• Global Moderator
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Edgwick lathe cross-slide nut replacement
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2016, 09:15:46 AM »
Welcome to the forum - good to see you here  :thumbup:

Matthew Tinker in France has an Edgewick - and I've a feeling Ade Vickers in Wallasey  also has one - perhaps they'll be along in a moment .....
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline AdeV

• Madmodder Committee
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2016, 10:26:17 AM »
Hi chrisnaborg,

As Andrew correctly states, I have one of those lathes. Very nice it is too :D

Unfortunately... that's as far as I got with my topslide strip down as well... I couldn't see any easy way to get it out. I have since acquired a manual for this lathe, so I'll have a quick squint at that over the weekend, to see if it offers any clues.

Cheers!
Ade.
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Occasionally: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...

Offline chrisnaborg

« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2016, 03:13:08 PM »
Hey thanks all.. i will try to figure something out this weekend as well

Offline mattinker

« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2016, 05:07:36 PM »
Chris,