Author Topic: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?  (Read 5199 times)

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6438
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« on: November 15, 2017, 09:29:01 AM »
Today I went to view an elderly CNC lathe. A Colchester 350 CNC with a Fanuc OT control. Not mine yet and may never be mine - seller and I are circling each other waiting for the other to crack  :lol: I'm certainly not paying his asking price  :ddb:

Happy to say Dave Spicer came with me on the viewing as he has had some contact with these machine in a past life. We managed  to put power on, and get the controller up and running, however the axis servo drivers are coming up with an error code probably due to parameter corruptions / low back up battery so we couldn't move the axis or spin up the main motor drive.

Vendor claims to have all the documentation, and indeed we found a paper tape and two print outs of the original parameters in the electrical cabinet, albeit in a very oily state.

If I do go for it no doubt it'll be an interesting journey, starting with a major clean up and identify program, followed by months of diagnose and fix  :bang:


... ponder ponder ponder  :scratch:
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline NormanV

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 597
  • Country: gb
  • United Kingdom
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2017, 10:13:11 AM »
I've got my comfy chair and beverage of choice all lined up for another epic journey!

Offline Spurry

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
  • Country: gb
  • Norfolk, UK
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2017, 10:56:10 AM »
Oh, go on Andrew. You know you want to, whether you actually need to, is another matter.  :clap:
Pete

Offline Joules

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1029
  • Country: gb
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2017, 11:28:06 AM »
It's something to tie the Emu to.
Just get doing and make swarf, you can decide what its going to be later.   :thumbup:

Offline seadog

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Country: gb
  • NE London
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2017, 11:48:41 AM »
Please buy it Andrew. The last project one you refurbished was a fascinating read.

Offline Pete W.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 786
  • Country: gb
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2017, 12:16:41 PM »
Please buy it Andrew. The last project one you refurbished was a fascinating read.
 

But I asked Andrew where the last one is now and what its new owner is doing with it - Andrew didn't reply!!! 
Best regards,

Pete W.

If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs, you haven't seen the latest design change-note!

Offline charadam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2017, 02:16:00 PM »
Will it fit in the new "tractor shed"?

Your public needs to know.

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6438
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2017, 02:21:48 PM »
Please buy it Andrew. The last project one you refurbished was a fascinating read.
 

But I asked Andrew where the last one is now and what its new owner is doing with it - Andrew didn't reply!!!

I'm sure I replied !

It's on an industrial estate near Shoreham Airport making bits for high end optical telescopes - oh and it paid for a big chunk of the Tractor Shed  :clap:
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline AdeV

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2077
  • Country: gb
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2017, 02:43:08 PM »
Hey Andrew,

Are you sure you wouldn't like to practice on a poorly Mazak first? You know, to get your hand back in  :lol: :lol:

Of course, access is a bit of a pain right now, you can get to the back easily enough, not so much the front...

Plus it's a bit of a trek... but I do have a pool table to while away those "thinking" hours  :headbang:

 :)
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Location: Wallasey, Merseyside. A long way from anywhere.
Or: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...
Skype: adev73

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6438
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2017, 02:48:30 PM »
In Parliamentary Parlance :

"Can I refer the Honourable Gentleman to the reply I gave earlier"  :lol:
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline AdeV

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2077
  • Country: gb
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2017, 02:54:53 PM »
In Parliamentary Parlance :

"Can I refer the Honourable Gentleman to the reply I gave earlier"  :lol:

One of these days I'm just going to leave it by your gate with a note attached "Please feed (bar stock) and care for"  :D
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Location: Wallasey, Merseyside. A long way from anywhere.
Or: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...
Skype: adev73

Offline Pete W.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 786
  • Country: gb
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2017, 03:28:01 PM »
Please buy it Andrew. The last project one you refurbished was a fascinating read.
 

But I asked Andrew where the last one is now and what its new owner is doing with it - Andrew didn't reply!!!

I'm sure I replied !

It's on an industrial estate near Shoreham Airport making bits for high end optical telescopes - oh and it paid for a big chunk of the Tractor Shed  :clap:
 

Andrew,

Please forgive me if I missed your reply to my question.  But I do agree with Seadog that your commentary on that restoration was absorbing and educational. 
Best regards,

Pete W.

If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs, you haven't seen the latest design change-note!

Offline PekkaNF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2118
  • Country: fi
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2017, 04:14:38 PM »
If I were you friend, I would say "RUN AWAY FROM IT". It reeks trouble of all sorts.

BUT if you buy it, it will make entertaining reading. Netflix documentaries will be distant second.

Pekka

Offline mattinker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1107
  • Country: fr
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2017, 04:31:32 PM »
It's not even a question, you need another CNC lathe for your well being solving all the problems!

Looking forward to the build, there will be one even if it's not the lathe you've found!

Good on you mate, cheers, Matthew

Offline tom osselton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 958
  • Country: ca
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2017, 05:36:41 PM »
Well at least you know what your doing mine is on the back burner for a few more days until my Haas tm1p gets delivered on monday from what they say trying to sync up the riggers and tech guy who has to pull off the feet and replace them once inside the garage.

The lathe powered when we got it and seemed ok but now everything passes but stops on a "HOST CONTROL INITIALIZING " with just the fan running.

Offline RotarySMP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Country: at
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #15 on: November 16, 2017, 03:30:42 AM »
Where do you find time to farm?

I hope you get it, for our entertainment :)
Mark

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6438
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #16 on: January 29, 2018, 11:52:30 AM »
Well I decided not to proceed with the Colchester 350 - various reasons but largely  due to the high cost of the faulty bits of the controller.

But today I've committed to another project  pile of junk to try and bring back from the dead  :clap:

It's an early Denford Mirac. I like the Miracs as they are a small foot print machine yet very sturdy and have a slant bed. This one has obviously not been loved in recent years, and from the pictures seems to be in quite a state. I've not seen it in the flesh as it's in Stoke St Michael in Somerset.

Being an early Mirac I suspect it has a PC mother board inside, apparently it runs Windows 98. It may well be a candidate for installing a new controller, but that's all in the future - just need to work out how to shift it the 170 miles home  :bugeye:
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline RotarySMP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Country: at
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2018, 07:11:08 AM »
I think we all appreciate you doing this solely for our entertainment.  Thanks.  :thumbup:
Mark

Offline mattinker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1107
  • Country: fr
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #18 on: January 30, 2018, 07:13:22 AM »
 More fun!

Cheers, Matthew

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6438
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #19 on: January 30, 2018, 07:14:55 AM »
Thanks chaps  :thumbup:

Collection arranged now for Tuesday 5th Feb - crack of dawn (well actually before dawn !) start  :bugeye:
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline seadog

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Country: gb
  • NE London
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #20 on: January 30, 2018, 11:04:02 AM »
Looking forward to another project to rival 'Project Binky.'  :clap:

Offline AdeV

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2077
  • Country: gb
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #21 on: January 30, 2018, 12:16:57 PM »
Honestly Andrew, you didn't need to be going to get any tiddly old slant-bed, when I've got a gert big one right here awaiting your attentions  :lol:

Seriously, looking forward to it... if you want I can put you in touch with a Man with a Crane - but he ain't cheap (on the other hand, he hasn't dropped any of my stuff.... yet....)
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Location: Wallasey, Merseyside. A long way from anywhere.
Or: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...
Skype: adev73

Offline AdeV

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2077
  • Country: gb
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #22 on: January 30, 2018, 12:18:54 PM »
Quote
I can put you in touch with a Man with a Crane

Hang on a cotton pickin' minute! That Denford looks tiny!

Are you sure you bought the right machine?
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Location: Wallasey, Merseyside. A long way from anywhere.
Or: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...
Skype: adev73

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6438
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #23 on: January 30, 2018, 12:38:20 PM »
Just giving you a chance to catch up Ade . . . . . . . .  :lol: :lol:
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline DICKEYBIRD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Country: us
  • Collierville, TN ya'll
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #24 on: January 30, 2018, 06:45:28 PM »
It may well be a candidate for installing a new controller, but that's all in the future -
Nice!  Can't wait to watch the metamorphosis. :beer:

If you decide to ditch the original control, take a look at the new Acorn controller from Centroid.  Pretty nice piece of kit that's gaining popularity.  Genuine encoder threading and solid software.  I have 2 and am well pleased with them and the support.  http://www.centroidcnc.com//centroid_diy/acorn_cnc_controller.html
Milton in Tennesee

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6438
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #25 on: January 31, 2018, 02:55:32 AM »
That certainly looks like a good option Dickybird. Are either of yours running a lathe with threading capabilities? Threading always seems to be the stumbling block, the adverts says it does but ......?

The tool changer needs relatively fast I/o to monitor its simple encoder as it rotates which might be another issue.
Years back I used to use TurboCNC. Quite clunky by modern standards but has the advantage that you have full access to the source code and can incorporate foibles such as these.
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline DICKEYBIRD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Country: us
  • Collierville, TN ya'll
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #26 on: January 31, 2018, 11:21:01 AM »
I have my lathe running with a Heidenhain 2000 line (8000 counts per rev) encoder.  I am still learning the software (un-learning Mach3 Turn) & have not done any threading yet but am sure it will do well.  Here's a video:


The tool changer will require a custom macro (if there's not one available already) but from what I have seen on Centroid's support forum & from my memories of your posted history with such things, it'll be a walk in the park for you!

If you get some spare time, look around here http://centroidcncforum.com/viewforum.php?f=60 and you'll soon see how serious a piece of kit the Acorn is and how competent the Centroid staff is.  They even put up with my problems & patiently hold my hand through thick & thin! :clap:

 My opinion is that the DIY CNC world is very fortunate to have it available at that price.  (It was even better when I got on board early in the program at the introductory price of $265 + $99 for the Pro level software.)
Milton in Tennesee

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6438
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #27 on: January 31, 2018, 11:32:21 AM »
Milton, I've been reading up on it on their web site and it certainly looks to tick all the boxes.

Not got my hands on the lathe yet so need to be patient, but the Acorn / Centroid offering looks like a fore runner thanks for the heads up.  :thumbup: I'm even looking at their PC offering as a neat solution, but they get costly after customs charges and VAT over here  :(

Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline DICKEYBIRD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Country: us
  • Collierville, TN ya'll
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #28 on: January 31, 2018, 11:55:23 AM »
You're welcome Andrew, just trying to spread the word about a product I believe in.  I'm not electronically savvy enough to talk intelligently about the technical side of things but so far it seems to me to be a great tool to add to the CNC hobbyist's (and pro's) toolbox at a fair price.

ps: I'm a cheapskate, I bought a refurb Dell W10 PC for $139 and it works great.
Milton in Tennesee

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

Offline PK

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
  • Country: au
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #29 on: January 31, 2018, 05:32:53 PM »
Years back I used to use TurboCNC. Quite clunky by modern standards but has the advantage that you have full access to the source code and can incorporate foibles such as these.

:-) I remember turbocnc fondly.


Can't find the video, but I had a 'party piece' job that turned a two start, acme, tapered thread in PVC.

All using a 1 pulse per rev encoder..

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6438
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #30 on: January 31, 2018, 05:37:47 PM »
My first CNC conversion was a Denford Orac with a u/s controller. I used TurboCNC with loads of customised code to drive the tool turret and an inverter for the spindle. Nice lathe but under powered.

That was in 2003   :bugeye:
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline RotarySMP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Country: at
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #31 on: February 01, 2018, 04:50:00 AM »
I also used TCNC for years on my little chinese 7X lathe conversion. Shame Dave never sorted out that tool offset system. I really like the G77 canned cycle he implemented. The issues with the tool offset system did motivate the change to LinuxCNC which is a truly fantastic system.

I've been working on a Maho MH400E conversion in LinuxCNC, and this really is very well thought out, and extremely flexible software. Bit of a learning curve, but that is part of the fun. The support in the LinuxCNC forum is first rate as well.
Mark

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6438
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #32 on: February 01, 2018, 05:39:14 AM »
My first thoughts when looking at the ebay advert for this lathe was that it would be a candidate for LinuxCNC and force myself to get to grips with it, but I've previously downloaded LinuxCNC and really struggled with it.

Seeing the Centroid Acorn offering it seems well implemented and although not cheap looks to be a relatively easily achieved solution. I've not ruled out LiinuxCNC if only because it irritates me that to date I've not mastered it !

Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline DICKEYBIRD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Country: us
  • Collierville, TN ya'll
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #33 on: February 01, 2018, 11:05:38 AM »
My first thoughts when looking at the ebay advert for this lathe was that it would be a candidate for LinuxCNC and force myself to get to grips with it, but I've previously downloaded LinuxCNC and really struggled with it.

Seeing the Centroid Acorn offering it seems well implemented and although not cheap looks to be a relatively easily achieved solution.
I had the same LinuxCNC experience with my ORAC but when I factored in the price of the needed Mesa boards & other bits & bobs plus the massive amount of time needed (for me) to learn Linux, it was a no-brainer.  At 70 yrs. old, I figured I'd spend my limited amount of spare time fighting other battles.  Un-learning Mach3 is (for me) hard enough! :bang:
Milton in Tennesee

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

Offline RotarySMP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Country: at
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #34 on: February 01, 2018, 04:50:39 PM »
I've found (so far, I'm not finished yet) that Linux knowledge is not a big deal. With the live CD's the system is a plug and play installation even simpler than windows.

The LinuxCNC HAL and Ini command system is pretty logical.

Beyond that you have the option, but not the necessity, to dive into nearly unlimited possiblities to customise through HAL modules, Classic ladder, or Python M/G code reassignment.
Mark

Offline awemawson

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6438
  • Country: gb
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #35 on: February 05, 2018, 02:53:14 PM »
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline Will_D

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 575
  • Country: ie
    • National Homebrew Club of Ireland
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #36 on: February 06, 2018, 07:54:17 AM »
Pity the Acorn s/w only runs on Windows 10. Thats yet another expense!
Engineer and Chemist to the NHC.ie
http://www.nationalhomebrewclub.ie/forum/

Offline DICKEYBIRD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Country: us
  • Collierville, TN ya'll
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #37 on: February 06, 2018, 10:27:57 AM »
Pity the Acorn s/w only runs on Windows 10. Thats yet another expense!
Yeah, I was hoping to use a spare W7 PC I had on hand.  The expense wasn't too bad though and Centroid wanted to plan now for possible future enhancements of the new CNC12 software.

Here's an example of what's available this side of the pond.  The one I got is a smaller format than this example & works great!  I also picked up a refurb Lenovo 23" touchscreen monitor for $120 shipped.  I run an Ethernet A/B switchbox to allow the one PC to run the lathe while construction continues on the mill.  One PC runs 2 Acorns.

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_odkw=Dell+Optiplex+790+SFF+Quad+Core+i5-2400+3.1GHz+-+4GB+-+500GB+WiFi+w%2F+Win+10&_osacat=0&_from=R40&_trksid=p2045573.m570.l1313.TR0.TRC0.H0.XDell+Optiplex+790+SFF+Quad+Core+i5-2400+3.1GHz+w10.TRS0&_nkw=Dell+Optiplex+790+SFF+Quad+Core+i5-2400+3.1GHz+w10&_sacat=0

Milton in Tennesee

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."

Offline russ57

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #38 on: February 06, 2018, 04:46:20 PM »
Win10 is available free, and legally.
Without a license, you can't activate it. That restricts some functions, like personalised desktop settings,  although you even have a 30 day grace period to do that.

It also effects some other Microsoft services. I'd be fairly confident running cnc software would be fine (no doubt the fine print mentions personal use only)

A response I think to the internet of things, home automation, the rise of single board computers with Linux and Android.


-russ


Offline Pete.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
  • Country: gb
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #39 on: February 06, 2018, 04:50:46 PM »
Win10 is available free, and legally.


How? I have been considering it. Full install or upgrade version only?

Offline russ57

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #40 on: February 06, 2018, 10:02:29 PM »
See
https://www.howtogeek.com/244678/you-dont-need-a-product-key-to-install-and-use-windows-10/

For example.

I think you can do either.
It seems like an upgrade may result in an activation sometimes.
I also found a comment somewhere that if you use 'assistive' features you are entitled to an upgrade licence.



-russ


Offline timby

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Do I NEED another CNC Lathe Project ?
« Reply #41 on: February 07, 2018, 03:03:07 AM »
You can get W10  PCs  quite cheaply on Ebay, this is an example,  http://bit.ly/2sbVpST


I recently bought one even cheaper for my sister, I was impressed.