Author Topic: Reworking of a Denford Mirac CNC lathe.  (Read 5311 times)

Offline john11668

Reworking of a Denford Mirac CNC lathe.
« on: July 19, 2023, 06:20:06 PM »
Hi all!

Please excuse me . I am a total novice on the forum although not without experience .
This project though is going to be a bit of a challenge.

Bought as a machine which "was working until recently".    Yea  Right!!

So  A Denford Mirac but no Denford software,
Clear evidence of  messing about to try and make it work. Several PCs had been tried .
Chap was running a small commercial CNC  operation  and had a number of working machines.
Said that it had worked but just stopped loading part  programs. But no evidence of recent working
Coolant had all been drained but was well dried up.

No evidence of any action when powered up , and I seem to remember a Denford dongle was needed to make it work and there was none .
E stop was a key switch and locked out with no keys .

For the price though it seemed reasonable  so it has become my winter project.
Collected from the midlands and brought home, but had to disconnect and remove the panel to get it in through the shop door.
It became clear that the monitor was duff but am going to get that "looked at" although a separate monitor works at the moment.
Decided that redeeming the Denford slave board was likely to be hard work  so opted to add a later PC with  Debian 10 having run my smaller lathe (Boxford TCL) on that.
 So have added 3 Bobs and  3 parallel cards ,  and had spindle , and axes working.
Am now looking at Turret and getting to the point of needing more help which is why I am here .
Bedtime now  so more specifics soon!

Offline awemawson

• Global Moderator
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Reworking of a Denford Mirac CNC lathe.
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2023, 02:23:58 AM »
I’ll watch this thread with interest having been there myself a few years ago.
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline john11668

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2023, 02:05:33 PM »