The Shop > Electronics & IC Programing

Which lathe (err... Scope) Rigol

(1/4) > >>

PekkaNF:
Hi my name is Pekka and I am an electrical engineer :)

I know that questions like which is best/whatever for first lathe/scope questions are plentifull and hard to answer, but it took me four lathes to learn something on them, and I'm on my third scope and sill know nothing.....

I actullay never done any real electrical design or work, went to work on paper machine insdustry, which had some demand for electrical engineers.

I did a whole lot of study and hobby stuff on electronics lab in the university and spent time with quality instruments, most of them were Tektronix and such.

Hobbyist had no money to buy such stuff. I had 10MHz British made "transitor" scope and later 20MHz Philips tube scope, until I bought Rigol DS1052E 2CH 50 MHz scope.

To my opinion DS1052E is the firts passable scope I owned, but it has some quirks and features that are not exactly show stoppers, but still rather annoying.

1: Lack of 50 ohm input. In priciple no problem: just use 50 ohm. trough termination, but in reallity question is more complex.
True 50 ohm scope inputs seem to be better enginered and have less noise. Often, also sensitivity is better.

Why such a fixation on 50 ohm? I like to build my own probes. 50 Ohm transmission line is the only way to go on hobby planet. It is true, that it's not often really requred under 100-200MHz...and it is limited to low voltage levels - you don't want check thermal capacity of the internal 50 termination.

2: relating to #1, adjustable probe attenuation would be nice. My current scope has pretty much all standard ones, but it's missing 1:20 and no probe DC voltage calbration. Or least I cant't find it.