Author Topic: Designing steam engines-oscillators specifically  (Read 4836 times)

Offline Chuck in E. TN

• USAF Retired
Designing steam engines-oscillators specifically
« on: June 25, 2018, 04:35:59 PM »
I am studying and experimenting with designing my own steam engine. I’’m starting with Oscillators. Specifically a double cylinder, double acting.
A member on another forum posted a link to an Ocillator simulator program, available here, that simulates simple single and double acting oscillator steam engines. It’s a neat program, and I learned a lot from it.
One thing that I haven’t been able to figure out is whether the piston should cover, not cover, or cover half the port openings at the top or bottom of it’s stroke. I assume(and you know what that does) it has something to do with timing and ‘cutoff’ in engines run on steam, but I don’t yet have a boiler, and will be running mine on compressed air.
The above mentioned simulator shows  the piston covering half the port in one engine and not covering the ports I another. Can someone explain the difference or wherewithal of the piston covering, half covering, or not covering the ports?
Chuck in E. TN
Famous TN last words: "Hey ya'll, watch this..."
MicroMark 7x14, HF X2 mill, Green 4x6 saw. Harbor Freight 170A mig

Offline chipenter

Re: Designing steam engines-oscillators specifically
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2018, 02:02:41 AM »
I don't know about the piston covering half the port , but the port is cracked just before top dead centre called lead , to get more steam or air into the cylinder , you will also get more power if the sides of the ports are flat and lined up to the pivot point .
Jeff

Offline velocette

« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2018, 05:51:19 PM »
Hi
As I see it this is not important and will attempt to explain.
The ports on an oscillator engine are closed when the engine is on TDC and will not open until the crank turns.