Author Topic: 3d printer - Leapfrog creatr conversion  (Read 14006 times)

Offline ddmckee54

Re: 3d printer - Leapfrog creatr conversion
« Reply #50 on: November 17, 2023, 01:23:02 PM »
I've seen worse prints that people were REALLY proud of.  As in thinking this is a high quality print when it had a terrible finish.  What material are you printing, and what's your layer thickness?
Too many irons, not enough fire.

Offline BillTodd

• Colchester Essex (where the lathes were made)
« Reply #51 on: November 17, 2023, 04:25:08 PM »
Hi,

It is Multicomp-pro PLA sliced in cura with a 0.3 layer ,(0.4 nozzle)  .  I'm new to Cura but having failed to stop Prusaslicer causing blob on insert after retract I swapped . Cura's default seem better chosen. except...

I've just had to cancel a print 2 hours in because of missing supports.

I also need to get myself a proper build plate. I have a PEI sheet stuck to a steel plate that bubble up and pings the part off after a while, A creality style plastic sheet to which PLA sticks like s*** to a blanket, but bulges in the middle if I heat just the middle plate ,  and a painted steel plate that seems OK but just doesn't have quite enough 'stick' for deeper parts.

I'm looking for a custom PEI spring plate supplier (the one I knew in the UK has folded)  310x350 is not standard . I can get 350x350 but I'd need to cut it and I don't think my  guillotine will cut a spring tempered sheet well.

Bill

Offline BillTodd

« Reply #52 on: November 18, 2023, 02:30:06 PM »
Aha just found out why my PEI sheet was shyte  - I had a peel off protection layer  :Doh:

no wonder it was bubbling  :)
Bill

Offline awemawson

• Global Moderator
  • East Sussex, UK
« Reply #53 on: November 18, 2023, 04:34:44 PM »
"I'm looking for a custom PEI spring plate supplier (the one I knew in the UK has folded)  310x350 is not standard . I can get 350x350 but I'd need to cut it and I don't think my  guillotine will cut a spring tempered sheet well."