Author Topic: Mill/drill quil stop and postion measurement  (Read 363 times)

Offline PekkaNF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2227
  • Country: fi
Mill/drill quil stop and postion measurement
« on: March 03, 2019, 02:53:31 PM »
Got one of these popular drill/mill combo and quite like it.



Installed DRO and that is definate improvement. However spindle stop is not tha great and spindle depth measurement is next to useless.



Saw this video, a little different mill, but very similar spindle construction.


Stop looks good and would be possible to make with only minimal changes. Good.

What about spindle postion measurement. I actually like the idea of local measurement display.

Any experience on this sort of scales:

https://www.machine-dro.co.uk/vertical-linear-digital-scale-150mm-6-inch.html

Or the type that has separate display.

I'm trying to find a model that has big and clear display.

Offline philf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 875
  • Country: gb
Re: Mill/drill quil stop and postion measurement
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2019, 06:23:56 PM »
Pekka,

ArcEuro have the scales with a separate display.

https://www.arceurotrade.co.uk/Catalogue/Measurement/Digital-Readouts-with-Dedicated-Remote-Display/Digital-Readout-Bars-with-Dedicated-Remote-Display

I use one for the z-axis on my mill. The only problem I found is that the display turns off after a short time of inactivity - but it does retain the position when turned back on again.
Phil Fern
Location: Marple, Cheshire

Offline Joules

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
  • Country: gb
Re: Mill/drill quil stop and postion measurement
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2019, 04:56:42 AM »
Fit a backlight to the display, it only need be an LED to side light the display, but this makes a huge difference.
Just get doing and make swarf, you can decide what its going to be later.   :thumbup:

Offline PekkaNF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2227
  • Country: fi
Re: Mill/drill quil stop and postion measurement
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2019, 05:09:35 AM »
Good info thank you.

That automatic power save sounds annoying. Luckily value does not zero on power up - like it does on one cheap caliper I have.