Author Topic: clamping round bar  (Read 7427 times)

Offline boatmadman

• Located in Barrow in Furness, South Cumbria
clamping round bar
« on: September 29, 2009, 12:48:27 PM »
Hi,

New to this forum, so hi folks.

I have a peatol lathe with various extras that allow me to mill on it. Now, I am not very experienced in this metal work stuff, so I need some help!

I want to machine a length of 40mm round bar into a rectangular block - not too hard - except my mill vice isnt deep (?) enough to hold it, so, is there a way to hold this thing, or do I need to go anf buy a bigger vice?

Thanks for any help.

Ian
If it works, take it apart and find out why!

Offline Darren

• Madmodder Committee
  • N/Wales
Re: clamping round bar
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2009, 12:50:18 PM »
Do you have a four jaw chuck, if so you could turn it square if the chuck can hold 40mm?
You will find it a distinct help… if you know and look as if you know what you are doing. (IRS training manual)

Offline raynerd

• Madmodder Committee
    • Raynerds Projects - Raynerd.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2009, 12:53:00 PM »
People on here will give you better advice but I think a V-block would help and that is what I would be using. Then clamping my V-block to the bed or vice....I could be wrong, normally am!

Offline Darren

• Madmodder Committee
  • N/Wales
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2009, 01:18:09 PM »
Yes a V-Block is certainly a handy device but I don't think it will help here as Ian wants to machine the round into a square?
You will find it a distinct help… if you know and look as if you know what you are doing. (IRS training manual)

Offline boatmadman

« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2009, 01:22:25 PM »
Darren,

I think the 4 jaw chuck might be the way to go, I have one tucked away somewhere.

Must learn to think laterally!

Thanks

Ian

Offline raynerd

• Madmodder Committee
    • Raynerds Projects - Raynerd.co.uk
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2009, 01:37:33 PM »