Author Topic: our trade goes by. its a shame  (Read 14540 times)

Offline ieezitin

our trade goes by. its a shame
« on: October 25, 2009, 09:18:43 PM »
The decline in craftsmanship.

Well lads, I am 47 years old and my apprenticeship was with Bowater Scott co in south east England. I was a fitter turner, that term has vanished . I now live in the USA and have lived here for 20 years, my profession is now a pipe fitter welder,  welding was a side skill that was in my teaching, but here is the USA it’s a trade.

Machining here in the US is looked upon as a pastime, the real machinists are long gone from here, the trade is not looked upon as a trade!. Computers are filling in the jobs. There are machinists here but they are few to be noticed.

This world may revolve and keep going as it is and the US will continue ignoring tradesman that it has left behind  but I say  if it does not wake up It will play in a great demise even further to where it is now. A skill will always be a skill.

I am sorry I had to vent.     God bless.  Anthony.
If you cant fix it, get another hobby.

Offline tinkerer

Re: our trade goes by. its a shame
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2009, 09:28:53 PM »
Anthony,
I know what you are talking about. Lockheed Marietta used to be the largest machine shop under one roof. I remember during the C5A days giant mills turning out fuselage frames. They had a spinning lathe they made engine fairings on. It was told, it was the last one around. Now very little is done except assembly of parts made all over the world. The airlines used to have a lot of machines and some still do. CNC and 3D laser scanning is common now, but tons of the work are shipped to the OEM's as the repair work is in the purchase contracts. It is easier and cheaper to farm it out than it is to do it inhouse.
Tink

The desire accomplished is sweet to the soul.
Prov 13:19

Offline Bernd

• Madmodder Committee
  • 1915 C Cab
    • Kingstone Model Works