Author Topic: My slager 12x36 lathe  (Read 46106 times)

Offline Trion

My slager 12x36 lathe
« on: December 06, 2009, 07:21:38 AM »
Hello guys. This is my first post on this forum, so it's sort of an introduction. But since I'll mostly be writing about ways to improve my lathe, I might just aswell start here.

Quick info on me I'm a machine engineer student in the beginning of my twenties and have absolutely no experience in machining. I have read a bit about turning, and recently tried a bit on the lathe. My other projects are a pair of Nissan Silvia's, and I hope to eventually be able to make some parts for them on the lathe.

Now over to the machine. It is my first lathe, and I have had her for a couple of months, but until recently never found anyone with a similar machine. After my new discoveries, this seems to be another Lantaine copy, only mine is form 1984. In other words it is the Grizzly, HF and Jet lathes older brother.

Spec:
3hp 220V engine
12x36"
Belt drive headstock
Coolant system

How it looked when i got it

And the accessories that came with it

As said, it is from 1984, but it has only had two owners, and the previous owner insisted on it not having been used more than 50 hours. I'm not too familiar with lathes and how they wear, to be able to tell if this is true. But from looking at it, it seems to have mostly rusted and collected dust. As a note, it has the "non-dividable" headstock belts, and judging by the work amount of replacing these i guess they are the oem pieces. - You would not believe my relief when i discovered these red "disconnectable" belts! :wave:
Also, the external jaws for the 3 jaw are still in their original bag with this thick chineese grease on them!

Sorry for the poor pictures, I still lack a bit of light around the machine

First I made a small tool board with the most necessary items

Then removed the top slide, to give it a good cleaning and lube

Soon afterwards the cross slide went aswell

Assembly