Author Topic: hi from the IOM  (Read 3640 times)

Offline DMIOM

• Isle of Man
hi from the IOM
« on: December 20, 2009, 12:42:20 PM »
Based in the Isle of Man - which is NOT part of the UK  :hammer: although had to pick UK when registering on the board (its a bit like asking Aussies or Canadians to register as English ! ).  Have watched & learnt from the board for a while, but only just joined now ....

By original training I am a Physicist who was led astray by asking "where do these least-squares-fit punched cards go to?"; thereafter main career was in electronics and IT, culminating in leading the IT for a global Ship Manager for a number of years; then made redundant after an acquisition led to "internal outsourcing".  Still do some consultancy for the shipping industry, but have turned other interests in a small business : as a reformed rally-driver, and long-term rally results organiser, I have an interest in four-wheeled sport; and, coming from the land of the TT, whilst not a rider, I do have some previous interest in two-wheeled sports.  

These now combined with my electronics background to develop systems for TV houses to use for filming motorsports - both on-board and trackside. First range of systems were for on-screen virtual dashboards; now also produce a range of systems & components for the onboard video recording and "kerbcams".  Systems used for the like of the IOM TT & Northwest 200, British Rally Championship, Powerboat P1; ALMS across the pond; and private filming for F1 teams etc.   As a result of manufacturing more bespoke "we need it tomorrow" kit, as well as the electronics & software, have had to tool-up to manufacture housings, bracketry etc. - so manual & CNC milling machines (& a recent "Chester Cub 630" manual lathe for making fixtures & fittings) - some components we machine are Acetal but many are Aluminium, hence also an Anodising line; and the engineering and anodising resources are also used for third-party work as well.