Author Topic: Hi all  (Read 3080 times)

Offline cidrontmg

Hi all
« on: May 30, 2010, 05:05:40 PM »
 Time to introduce a lurker. Iīm a pensioner nowadays, I was a dentist in Finland for some 20 years, then some 21 years ago came to Portugal. My wife had a small sewing factory in Finland, and we moved it here, and I stopped being a dentist, to help getting the factory going again, somewhat bigger. Neither of us spoke any portuguese, nor did the children(2), but things worked out quite well nevertheless. Now weīre even citizens here (as well as Finland), and not going back.
We bought a small "quinta", meaning a farm, sort of, not far from Penafiel, which is abt. 30 km east of Oporto. Center of Penafiel is 4-5 km away so itīs quiet and calm here, and the city is within walking distance. This place was some hundreds of years ago the local priestīs living, the house was built in 1658, and true to portuguese sense of humor, itīs called "Casa Nova", that is "new house".
View from the shop door, facing NW.

The house with the red roof + parabolic is also ours, although we donīt live there, there are 3 houses in this quinta,
plus some other farm buildings. And some ruins of houses. South end of Penafiel is in the background, most of it is to the right, not visible here.

Going into the shop, thereīs the mill + usual clutter of tools,

the lathe. A bright day, itīs not usually so well lit

note the thickness of the walls, >80 cm of huge granite blocks
Turning a bit, thereīs this

more tools + stuff (all necessary, obviously...)
and turning a bit more

Thatīs about all there is, cramped into 5 x 2.5 m. Thereīs also another room, some steps from here, whose main purpose is to store firewood and central heating boiler. I have some (hand) woodworking tools there, a small band saw, planer, routers, circular saw, etc. It would be warm also in winter, but its then full of logs.