Author Topic: boring a small hole  (Read 8764 times)

Offline colin563

boring a small hole
« on: June 30, 2010, 05:16:48 PM »
ive got to bore a small hole 0.500" round & 0.600 deep flat bottom

what type or were would i purchase such a small boring tool

or is any other way to do it

i have limited resources & space  :(

i did think of a d bit never made one also i have no way of heating it up

thanks colin

Offline Dean W

• My kingdom for a lathe!
    • Projects web pages
Re: boring a small hole
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2010, 05:50:15 PM »
Colin, grind one from a HSS tool bit.

Dean
Dean W.

Shop Projects:
http://www.deansphotographica.com/machining/projects/projects.html

Praise the Lord and pass the Carbide!

Offline colin563

« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2010, 04:53:02 AM »
thanks for the reply dean

does anybody know of any links to help me grind a boring tool

im still learning this i went for the diamond tool holder for ease

ive only got the use of 1 arm just make thing a bit difficult

thanks colin

Offline andyf

• In Memoriam
    • The Warco WM180 Lathe - Modifications
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2010, 05:07:18 AM »
Hi Colin,

I reckon Dean's pics are a pretty good start on the sort of shape required. A bit of relief under the front cutting edge (on his middle tool, that's the edge resting on the ruler), and sufficient relief under the point so that the part under it it doesn't foul the side of the hole when the tool is at centre height, should get you there.

If the material to be bored isn't too hard, a trick I have used here at Poverty Acres is to find an old Allen key, cut off most of the short leg and grind what remains into the required shape. A decent Allen key works quite well; avoid the sort that Ikea issues with flat-pack furniture.

Andy
Sale, Cheshire
I've cut the end off it twice, but it's still too short

Offline Lew_Merrick_PE

« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2010, 02:30:44 PM »
ive got to bore a small hole 0.500" round & 0.600 deep flat bottom