Author Topic: Greetings all.  (Read 4655 times)

Offline BiggerHammer

Greetings all.
« on: February 27, 2011, 07:07:56 PM »
Hello everyone, (WOW I got past the word hello without Brass Machine asking for pics  :lol: )

My name is Sean age 43 and I live a bit northwest of Birmingham Alabama. I was wandering around youtube and I saw a video a small steam engine, which led to stirlings and all sorts of interesting things. I decided that I needed to try building some of this stuff. I work in construction (the industrial side of things) I am a fairly accomplished welder (stick, m.i.g., t.i.g.). I figured (to quote Sir Jeremy Clarkson) "How hard can it be? .... So I bought myself an Harbor Freight 8x12/14 lathe, a smallish drill press, and some tooling (mmmm new toys)  Suitable working area is a bit limited at the moment as are time and funds thus my "Shop" is also the Kitchen (you guessed it I am single).  

As many of the videos I watched were posted by members of this Forum I now know where to place the blame for all of the FUN I have been having. I did not find this forum until quite recently and have spent some time reading posts. Very informative, Thank You All.

On to the FUN. I now realize I should have done a bit more research into plans and whatnot before jumping into my first build by doing a quick sketch-up with pencil and paper and having at it. Here are the results. (I shall now attempt to post a picture)

It looks like an LTD Stirling, it smells like an LTD Stirling, but it runs like a brick. I have begun trouble shooting it but I am thinking that the power piston (aluminium) power cylinder (brass) displacer and displacer cylinder are the faults (oh, and the bushings on the con-rods). Like they say, if all else fails read the instructions. Still had a good deal of fun and learned quite a bit. Also enjoyed figuring out how to fab some of the parts.