Author Topic: Which mill?  (Read 7068 times)

Offline Rick448

Which mill?
« on: March 15, 2011, 04:57:41 PM »
Hi

I am looking to make parts for various motorcycle projects. Eg wheel spacers, caliper brackets etc. I want to use aluminium and these won't be large parts although wheel spacers may need to be up to 25mm drillings. Can you please recommend a suitable mill? I'm wondering if a Sieg X3 would be ok or do I need one that big? I'm new to all this so any ideas are much appreciated. Thanks.

Offline raynerd

• Madmodder Committee
    • Raynerds Projects - Raynerd.co.uk
Re: Which mill?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2011, 05:04:24 PM »
The C3 is an excellent size IMO. I have the X2 and I often find it a little restrictive, possibly because of my lack of ability  :scratch: but I think because of its size! It is an excellent machine, but if your budget can stretch to the X3 size, I`d go for it without a doubt. You`ll wish you had if you go for the X2!!

Chris

Offline Brass_Machine

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2011, 08:52:23 PM »
Rick,

The X2 cuts aluminum just fine. However, the rule of thumb is get the biggest you can afford and fit into your work space. I make motorcycle parts on my X2 but wish I had a bigger machine.

Eric
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline Lew_Merrick_PE

« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2011, 10:46:42 PM »
Rick -- The Rule of Thumb is, as always, you will always need a bit more capacity than your current tool.  The more capacity you can place on your floor, the longer it will be before you run out of capacity.  This may sometimes be measured in seconds -- and sometimes in days.  My "big mill" has 22 inches of X-axis travel.  It is in storage (lack of space).  You should hear me scream when my "small mill" (14 inches of X-axis travel) is slightly short -- and yet it is also true that I run into jobs where 42 inches of X-axis travel would be "just fine" when I have my "big mill" operational.