Author Topic: Problems selecting items  (Read 22378 times)

Offline Bogstandard

  • Bogs Group
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1107
Problems selecting items
« on: March 23, 2011, 12:08:42 PM »
Is anyone having the same problem as myself with the site?

When I click on anything, say to go to a post or to open up a topic, I have to click on it a few times to get it to open, sometimes it doesn't open at all, just showing a blank screen waiting to open, then I usually have to select back.

This only started today, and nowhere else on the web is giving a problem.


Bogs
If you don't try it, you will never know if you can do it.

Location - Crewe, Cheshire

Skype - bandit175

Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5274
  • Country: us
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2011, 01:33:59 PM »
I haven't noticed anything on this end. Seems to be working fine. I was on this morning at home and here at work... no delays. I will dig into it though and see what I can find out. I may end up restarting the server tonight...

Eric
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline Stilldrillin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4925
  • Country: gb
  • Staveley, Derbyshire. England.
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2011, 01:38:51 PM »
This forum is always slow to open, the first time I select.  :scratch:

Subsequent visits during the switched on period are "normal"......  ::)

David D
David.

Still drilling holes... Sometimes, in the right place!

Still modifying bits of metal... Occasionally, making an improvement!

Offline AdeV

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
  • Country: gb
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2011, 01:51:22 PM »
No problems here... I occasionally get a slow link, but I get that on all sorts of sites.
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Location: Wallasey, Merseyside. A long way from anywhere.
Or: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...
Skype: adev73

Offline Bernd

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3683
  • Country: us
  • 1915 C Cab
    • Kingstone Model Works
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2011, 02:18:10 PM »
Working fine here in up state New York.
You can't fix "STUPID".

Offline saw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1007
  • Country: se
  • lucky amateur
    • Svenssons AckordsWerkstad
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2011, 04:39:23 PM »
I have never hade this kind of problems.
_________________________
Greetings / Benni
http://myprojecty.wordpress.com/category/steam-engine/

Offline Bogstandard

  • Bogs Group
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1107
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2011, 04:54:32 PM »
I have even turned my adblocker off to see if that was causing the problem, but no joy.

Nothing has been touched, changed or loaded this end, and is only happening on this site.

In fact, I had trouble opening this reply message


Strange, must be those gremlins again :bang:


John
If you don't try it, you will never know if you can do it.

Location - Crewe, Cheshire

Skype - bandit175

Offline saw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1007
  • Country: se
  • lucky amateur
    • Svenssons AckordsWerkstad
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2011, 05:01:11 PM »
What are you using Microsofts Explorer or something else? I am using explorer 8 and I have ever hade any problem with that softwhare. However I am very  precisely to have my computer running very clean and fine. As antivirus I'll run Microsofts Essential Security, it's free and I think it's the best antivirus softwhere outthere. So my computer will never be durty and I belived thats why Explorer 8 runns very fast and fine fore me.  ::)
_________________________
Greetings / Benni
http://myprojecty.wordpress.com/category/steam-engine/

Offline AdeV

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
  • Country: gb
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2011, 05:11:43 PM »
John,

If you're running Windows XP, you can try "tracert" to see if you can find the problem.

You'll probably find one of the "hops" along the route from your machine to the madmodder machine is acting slow or flakey.

This is the result from my machine (notice the last but one hop is not responding to "pings", hence the asterisks:

Code: [Select]
C:\Documents and Settings\James>tracert madmodder.net

Tracing route to madmodder.net [74.208.111.212]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms     1 ms     2 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    10 ms     9 ms     9 ms  10.6.240.1
  3    19 ms    10 ms    14 ms  bagu-cam-1b-v140.network.virginmedia.net [80.5.163.237]
  4    11 ms    10 ms    11 ms  bagu-core-1b-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net [195.182.175.25]
  5    14 ms    16 ms    12 ms  leed-bb-1b-as4-0.network.virginmedia.net [80.5.161.157]
  6    17 ms    16 ms    26 ms  nrth-bb-1a-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.175.133]
  7    34 ms    17 ms    14 ms  nrth-bb-1b-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.185.118]
  8    17 ms    17 ms    18 ms  nrth-tmr-2-ae6-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.159.34]
  9    20 ms    17 ms    17 ms  tele-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.184.2]
 10    32 ms    30 ms    24 ms  linx.bb-c.the.lon.gb.oneandone.net [195.66.224.98]
 11   265 ms    94 ms    93 ms  so-4-1.bb-c.tlx.nyc.us.oneandone.net [212.227.120.118]
 12   132 ms   123 ms   121 ms  te-3-3.bb-d.cr.chi.us.oneandone.net [74.208.6.81]
 13   151 ms   129 ms   147 ms  te-2-4.bb-d.ws.mkc.us.oneandone.net [74.208.1.54]
 14   128 ms   128 ms   130 ms  te-1-1.bb-c.slr.lxa.us.oneandone.net [74.208.1.89]
 15   129 ms   202 ms   148 ms  ae-11.gw-distp-a.slr.lxa.oneandone.net [74.208.1.117]
 16   135 ms   130 ms   168 ms  ae-1.gw-prtr-r5-a.slr.lxa.oneandone.net [74.208.1.167]
 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 18   137 ms   130 ms   130 ms  s15357082.onlinehome-server.com [74.208.111.212]

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\James>

Occasionally, one also gets routing errors, such as loops - if you see the same IP address [the bit in square brackets] over & over again, then that's a probable cause.
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Location: Wallasey, Merseyside. A long way from anywhere.
Or: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...
Skype: adev73

Offline Bogstandard

  • Bogs Group
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1107
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2011, 05:20:47 PM »
Saw,

I don't want to get into the battle of softwares, that gets no-one anywhere, I was just asking if anyone had the same problem as I am.


Ade,

I suspected that it might be somewhere along the route. I had the same sort of problem a few years ago with HMEM.

My ISP gets changed tomorrow, so I will see if that makes any difference, they might route a different way.


Bogs
If you don't try it, you will never know if you can do it.

Location - Crewe, Cheshire

Skype - bandit175

Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5274
  • Country: us
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2011, 11:19:29 AM »
We had an issue this morning with our hosting company. I am pretty sure it isn't related, however, we got a server reboot out of it. I hope it is working better for everyone.

Eric
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline Bogstandard

  • Bogs Group
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1107
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2011, 11:25:05 AM »
Nope.

New 30+mb download now in use, still having trouble selecting.

Another excuse for me not having to post.


Bogs
If you don't try it, you will never know if you can do it.

Location - Crewe, Cheshire

Skype - bandit175

lordedmond

  • Guest
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2011, 12:28:40 PM »
Yes John

Same here but very different set up

OSX Lion ( oops should not have said that ) its the legal dev build with safari 5.1 on a 50 mb fibre link and its till bad I had a complete outage to this site with buffer allocation errors the service not available all after noon


so its not xp vista or evan me its across all flavours


Stuart



Offline spuddevans

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1590
  • Country: 00
  • Portadown, Northern Ireland
    • My Photo website
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2011, 12:35:20 PM »
No problem here selecting things. (not trying to brag, just adding to the quandry)


Tim
Measure with a micrometer, mark with chalk, cut with an axe  -  MI0TME

Offline NickG

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1890
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2011, 12:38:10 PM »
I had problems with the site earlier, can't remember what the error message was but it wouldn't even get the start screen

Nick
Location: County Durham (North East England)

Offline AdeV

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
  • Country: gb
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #15 on: March 24, 2011, 12:40:51 PM »
John, who is your new ISP, and what are your tracert results? PM if you don't want it to be public knowledge.
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Location: Wallasey, Merseyside. A long way from anywhere.
Or: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...
Skype: adev73

Offline andyf

  • In Memoriam
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
  • Country: gb
    • The Warco WM180 Lathe - Modifications
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #16 on: March 24, 2011, 01:25:40 PM »
As well as the recent outages on madmodder which Eric (may his name be praised and his tribe increase  :bow:  :bow: ) has fixed, I noticed a general slowness on various sites including madmodder over the last week or so, but things seem to have improved in the last two days.

Of course, my 10-year old laptop may have something to do with it, and maybe I have been logging on when the kids get home from school and all log on to Facebook at the same time.

Andy
Sale, Cheshire
I've cut the end off it twice, but it's still too short

Offline Bernd

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3683
  • Country: us
  • 1915 C Cab
    • Kingstone Model Works
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #17 on: March 24, 2011, 01:46:45 PM »
 :lol:  :lol:  :lol:  :lol: Actually was causing this is ObamaNet.  :lol:  :lol:  :lol:  :lol:
You can't fix "STUPID".

Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5274
  • Country: us
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #18 on: March 24, 2011, 02:27:22 PM »
I had problems with the site earlier, can't remember what the error message was but it wouldn't even get the start screen

Nick

We did have an outage this morning. Not my fault... the service provider had an issue.
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5274
  • Country: us
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #19 on: March 24, 2011, 02:39:48 PM »
... on a 50 mb fibre link and its till bad I had a complete outage to this site with buffer allocation errors the service not available all after noon
...

We did have an outage this morning (noonish for you over the pond). Not related to the site. My provider had a small problem that was corrected.


The issues with the site that John is talking about is separate from this morning. I am not having any trouble with the site from multiple locations and providers. I have had friends throughout the US check... again, no-one is citing any issues. I am not sure it is the forum...
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline Bluechip

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1503
  • Country: england
  • Derbyshire UK
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #20 on: March 24, 2011, 02:56:58 PM »
Apart from the outage Eric mentions, I don't have any problems at all ..

Can wander in and out with no significant delays on this rather basic lap top ..

Vista 32 bit. IE8. 1.6GHz Processor. 1Gb Memory .. according to some folk ...

Shouldn't work at all really  ... should it??  ...  :lol:

Although I must admit it doesn't boot up very smartly ... must try a new flint ..

Dave BC



I have a few modest talents. Knowing what I'm doing isn't one of them.

Offline Divided he ad

  • WARNING: LIKES SHINEY THINGS
  • The Collective
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1949
  • Country: gb
  • Between Chester, Wrexham, ruthin & Holywell :-)
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #21 on: March 24, 2011, 06:34:22 PM »
Well, I have slow ass issues with all sorts of sites, youtube, photobucket and BBC Iplayer constantly pause and take 20-30 seconds to figure out what's happening.

I blame my old computer and really have issues when all this other stuff starts working in the background.

I know there are far, far greater minds than mine talking about this on here, just thought I'd say It seems normal to me and rarely plays up here.


This on a machine running very similar to Dave BC's.


Not much help I know  ::)






Ralph,.
I know what I know and need to know more!!!

MrFluffy

  • Guest
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #22 on: March 25, 2011, 05:33:34 AM »
Often my first visit of the day I often have to relog back in because the cookie has gone away, but apart from the sql server outage issues you mentioned, its all fine to here. I guessed the cookie going away was down to the hosting provider doing some kind of reboot out of hours or something.

My packets take the atlas.cogentco.com transit except for the last few hops which is in the oneandone host network so a different route completely than the uk people. That **** item is probably the hosting companies load balancer, and configured to ignore icmp requests for security reasons...

If it is a broken routing table between the uk and the us, theres not a lot brass machine can do about that though. And mostly regardless of isp in the uk, you take the same routes because theyre all either reselling bt broadband kit, or transiting on their backbone connections because of peering arrangements. But, theres I'd imagine, already a load of angry emails flying round between companies technicians and posts to the isp mailing lists about the broken peering if so as it will have been picked up by monitoring tools, and it will get fixed because everyone has service level agreements to meet or suffer a contractual financial penalty, and lost money talks really loudly :)


Offline Bogstandard

  • Bogs Group
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1107
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #23 on: March 25, 2011, 07:28:21 AM »
This is so annoying, I cannot even do a decent post because I know it would take me hours.

I had to click the reply button at least a dozen times before it would open so that I could post this.


Gently drifting away into the sunset.


Bogs
If you don't try it, you will never know if you can do it.

Location - Crewe, Cheshire

Skype - bandit175

Offline Bernd

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3683
  • Country: us
  • 1915 C Cab
    • Kingstone Model Works
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #24 on: March 25, 2011, 09:01:02 AM »
This is just a theory,but could it be possible with all the politcal unrest in the world that the net is being throttled back some how?  :med:     :loco:

I had an awful time last night uploading new pages to my web site server. It seemed like I needed to log back on because it timed out.

As I said, just a wild conspiracy theroy I'm throwing out there.

Bernd
You can't fix "STUPID".