Author Topic: Problems selecting items  (Read 21518 times)

lordedmond

  • Guest
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #25 on: March 25, 2011, 11:36:33 AM »
Bogs

Have you tried clearing the browser cache , I do have the problem here but not as sever as you , but as I am running a beta OS called Lion then I expect things to be odd at times also my browser is beta



Stuart

Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5255
  • Country: us
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #26 on: March 25, 2011, 11:40:33 AM »
This is so annoying, I cannot even do a decent post because I know it would take me hours.

I had to click the reply button at least a dozen times before it would open so that I could post this.


Gently drifting away into the sunset.


Bogs

Hiya John,

It is upsetting to hear you are having issues... but I am quite certain it isn't us that is the root cause. Perhaps it is somewhere in between us and you... The ISP and server have responded positively to all the tests I have battered it with. ISP tech support and my co-workers (who are web geniuses) have pronounced the site good. I hope you are able to resolve this issue.

Eric
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.

Offline Bogstandard

  • Bogs Group
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1107
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #27 on: March 25, 2011, 03:07:38 PM »
Eric,

I know, if you could, you would sort the problem for me, so don't you go worrying yourself over it.

I have tried it on IE8 (which is garbage) but still the problem persists, and I have even tried an earlier version of Firefox, to no avail.

At the moment it isn't too bad, about half a dozen clicks and maybe get somewhere, but I just can't trust it enough to do a largish post.

Ade V, the computerised whizzkid, is calling tomorrow, maybe he will be able to trace the problem for me.

I am also sure that it is not the site, but somewhere in between.


John

If you don't try it, you will never know if you can do it.

Location - Crewe, Cheshire

Skype - bandit175

Offline sbwhart

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3511
  • Country: gb
  • Smile, Be Happy, Have Fun and Rock Until you Drop
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #28 on: March 25, 2011, 05:01:39 PM »
John

I'm having the same problem as we are in the same area it may have something to do with the local network.

Stew
A little bit of clearance never got in the road
 :wave:

Location:- Crewe Cheshire

Offline andyf

  • In Memoriam
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
  • Country: gb
    • The Warco WM180 Lathe - Modifications
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #29 on: March 25, 2011, 05:32:43 PM »
John and Stew, it may be local to you two. Well, if you must live down among the Cheshire cats and cheeses ...

25 miles away near Manchester, I had a bit of slowness a few days ago, but all seems well now, apart from the occasional pause in videos on YouTube.  As mentioned before, my laptop is 10 years old, which in computing terms is geriatric. 1.8 GHz and just 750 Mb ram, with IE8.

I've just tried one of those speed tests, which says 6.9Mbps download and 0.7 Mbps upload. That surprises me, but it's 9.30 on Friday night, which might be a bit off-peak.

Andy
Sale, Cheshire
I've cut the end off it twice, but it's still too short

Offline Bernd

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3683
  • Country: us
  • 1915 C Cab
    • Kingstone Model Works
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #30 on: March 25, 2011, 08:52:15 PM »
Seems a bit slugish tonight. When replying to a message it takes a while to load the whole reply page. Was fine this morning. Other than that seems to be working fine.
You can't fix "STUPID".

Offline Stilldrillin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4913
  • Country: gb
  • Staveley, Derbyshire. England.
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #31 on: March 26, 2011, 03:05:44 AM »
Everything "normal" this side of the Pennines.

Just, cleared recent history. Has improved things......  :thumbup:

David D
David.

Still drilling holes... Sometimes, in the right place!

Still modifying bits of metal... Occasionally, making an improvement!

Offline NickG

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1890
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #32 on: March 26, 2011, 03:10:23 AM »
Bogs,

was just thinking, maybe you could do a system restore back to a time when you know it was working (if you haven't installed anything significant you want to keep in the mean time). Just to check whether it is something that's happened with your system and rule that one out?

Nick
Location: County Durham (North East England)

Offline Bogstandard

  • Bogs Group
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1107
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #33 on: March 26, 2011, 06:49:37 AM »
Nick,

I am very reluctant to do a system restore unless there is anything critical gone wrong.

This is the only problem I have, and it started before I had my new fibre broadband installed, and I don't want to disturb any of the settings or software I have with that.

I have just done a quickie check.

http://speedtest.net/result/1221142955.png


Would you put something like that in jeopardy, just to get it so that you can access one site correctly?


I don't think so.

The site will be given up first.


John
If you don't try it, you will never know if you can do it.

Location - Crewe, Cheshire

Skype - bandit175

lordedmond

  • Guest
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #34 on: March 26, 2011, 07:56:01 AM »
John

You won't loose the broadband speed its independent from jour pc  if AdeV bring a lap top and hooks up he would had near enough the same speed

Just a thought try downloading the browser from Google called Chrome its said to be ok for the pc world ( i.e. MS powered )


My other thought is if Stew is getting the same it could be the ping speed , not the balls out DL speed. although once the web page is on your pc any actions are local .

Has MS DL a sneaky update file ,because I have a number of friends that have suddenly had problems



Stuart

these are just random thoughts more like thinking out load so to Speak

John
 a thought has energised my remaining brain cell have you tried a different mouse ? it could just be an cable fault , unless it is a tailless mouse

added  last thought
« Last Edit: March 26, 2011, 08:00:53 AM by lordedmond »

Offline AdeV

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2051
  • Country: gb
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #35 on: March 26, 2011, 05:47:02 PM »
Unfortunately, I forgot my laptop (one of the downsides of a 4am start + my useless memory); but one thing we did establish is that while MadModder is the only one of John's regular sites that doesn't work properly, it's not the ONLY site (oldskoolford behave the same).

Must admit, it's got me stumped. I reckon there's a router either in the 1st or 2nd exchange that's got some kind of fault on it. Tracert works perfectly. DNS works perfectly. It's just that, one click in 2 (or more) is simply not acted upon. The browser sends out the request, but the server never receives it, so the browser then sits there doing b*gger all, waiting for a response that's never coming.

I can definitely empathise with John's frustration. I'd be ready to throw bricks by now, if my favourite site was acting up like that...

Next time I'm over, assuming the problem is still there, I'll definitely take my laptop.
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Location: Wallasey, Merseyside. A long way from anywhere.
Or: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...
Skype: adev73

MrFluffy

  • Guest
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #36 on: March 27, 2011, 05:05:34 AM »
if you can work out where it goes wrong, you can put a bit of static routing in to john's pc while your there to bypass the problem hops.  :-
 http://www.windowsreference.com/windows-2000/how-to-add-static-route-in-windows-xp2000vista/

Offline ieezitin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 676
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #37 on: March 27, 2011, 12:38:03 PM »
I am having problems now, it started yesterday. I try to get into the site and it times out 30 seconds and says no server found. Everything else (or sites I go to) is fine. When I do get in and go to read a topic sometimes it waits and thinks then just goes blank. Any ideas?


Anthony.
If you cant fix it, get another hobby.

Offline Bogstandard

  • Bogs Group
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1107
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #38 on: March 27, 2011, 12:53:45 PM »
Anthony,

Same symptoms almost.

In fact for a couple of hours today, the site wouldn't open at all.


It must be those damned gremlins back again :(


John


If you don't try it, you will never know if you can do it.

Location - Crewe, Cheshire

Skype - bandit175

lordedmond

  • Guest
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #39 on: March 27, 2011, 01:37:57 PM »
Yes same here server timed out after 30 sec , error line 1450
the other day Buffer over flow at line 0


I wonder if there is some place on this tinternt thingy a duff session of this site that is not being flushed for us in the UK but is OK for the US , for it seems that the problems are localised to the central area



Stuart




Offline andyf

  • In Memoriam
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
  • Country: gb
    • The Warco WM180 Lathe - Modifications
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #40 on: March 27, 2011, 02:39:54 PM »
Stuart, I had the same time-out problem this morning (Sunday) and when I did manage to get connected, everything was really slow. But all seems well again, now.

Andy
Sale, Cheshire
I've cut the end off it twice, but it's still too short

Offline DennisWA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #41 on: March 27, 2011, 02:40:15 PM »
Could not access the site some 3-4 hours ago - I was timed out waiting for a response.
I believe our South African connection is via the USA.
There was no problem with any other sites in the UK, USA or Australia that I accessed today.
Connection now is immediate like always!
 :scratch:

Dennis

Offline Stilldrillin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4913
  • Country: gb
  • Staveley, Derbyshire. England.
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #42 on: March 27, 2011, 03:56:28 PM »
Me too, an all. This Sunday morning.......  ::)

David D
David.

Still drilling holes... Sometimes, in the right place!

Still modifying bits of metal... Occasionally, making an improvement!

Offline Bluechip

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1503
  • Country: england
  • Derbyshire UK
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #43 on: March 27, 2011, 05:27:48 PM »
Went tits up for me too ....

Nowt else to do ...

So, whipped the 3-jaw off the Myford and raked all the brass bits out of it.

Why are they always full of brass ?? Nowt else it seems.

Bit like puking, always bits of carrot, even if you've not eaten the damn things for weeks ..  :scratch:  :scratch:

Dave BC
I have a few modest talents. Knowing what I'm doing isn't one of them.

Offline mklotz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
  • Country: us
  • LA, CA, USA
    • Software For People Who Build Things
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #44 on: March 27, 2011, 06:34:41 PM »
Bit like puking, always bits of carrot, even if you've not eaten the damn things for weeks .. 

If there's ever a contest for the strangest sentence ever written, be sure to enter.  You'll have it knocked.
Regards, Marv

Home Shop Freeware
http://www.myvirtualnetwork.com/mklotz

Offline andyf

  • In Memoriam
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1796
  • Country: gb
    • The Warco WM180 Lathe - Modifications
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #45 on: March 27, 2011, 06:42:46 PM »
Bit like puking, always bits of carrot, even if you've not eaten the damn things for weeks .. 

If there's ever a contest for the strangest sentence ever written, be sure to enter.  You'll have it knocked.

It makes perfect sense to me, Marv. In my case, just substitute tomatoes.

Any more contributions? We could open a recycled veggie restaurant!


Andy
Sale, Cheshire
I've cut the end off it twice, but it's still too short

Offline AdeV

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2051
  • Country: gb
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #46 on: March 27, 2011, 06:50:31 PM »
There is a perfectly rational - and thoroughly disgusting - reason why barf invariably contains bits of carrot (or tomato, if you're weird)...
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Location: Wallasey, Merseyside. A long way from anywhere.
Or: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...
Skype: adev73

Offline mklotz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
  • Country: us
  • LA, CA, USA
    • Software For People Who Build Things
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #47 on: March 27, 2011, 07:06:50 PM »
I thoroughly enjoy following the British colloquialisms on here.  As you are probably aware, English is no longer spoken in the United States, so the only way I get to enjoy it is listening to the banter here.
Regards, Marv

Home Shop Freeware
http://www.myvirtualnetwork.com/mklotz

Offline Bernd

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3683
  • Country: us
  • 1915 C Cab
    • Kingstone Model Works
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #48 on: March 27, 2011, 09:11:46 PM »
I thoroughly enjoy following the British colloquialisms on here.  As you are probably aware, English is no longer spoken in the United States, so the only way I get to enjoy it is listening to the banter here.

No matter how hard I listen I still have to read the words.  :scratch:  :lol:  :lol:

Dave

And what the 'ell is a "nowt" We have a Newt Gingrich. He's a  politician or at least claims he is.


 :offtopic: Ok, I see this topic is fast deteriorating with my statement.  :offtopic:
You can't fix "STUPID".

Offline Brass_Machine

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5255
  • Country: us
Re: Problems selecting items
« Reply #49 on: March 27, 2011, 09:29:52 PM »
Yup. We had an issue this morning. Same as I get every now and then... got a stray process that runs haywire and locks the processor at 100%. Can't get into the server to reboot it and have to have the ISP hit the button for me.

I will get that issue fixed. Bad timing for it to happen...

Eric
Science is fun.

We're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.