Author Topic: Casting Aluminum help please.  (Read 9197 times)

Offline FLOPGUY

Casting Aluminum help please.
« on: July 19, 2011, 04:51:37 PM »
Hello,
I am trying to cast aluminum. I am very new at this so pardon the simplicity on my knowledge.

I made a Furnace out of cynder blocks, I made a wire rack to hold the crucible out of 1/2' rebar.

I used a metal can as a crucible. I used a propane weed torch as the burned (instructions said it can achieve 3000 deg.)

I tried to do lost foam casting. I tried to cast a crank handle. I put the foam in my sand casting box. I melted my aluminum, but I notice as I was pooring that It seems to get almost a skin layer as I pour and it did not fill the entire foam.

I almost think that I am not getting the aluminum hot enough or am I doing something else wrong?

Thank you,
Mike

Rob.Wilson

Re: Casting Aluminum help please.
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2011, 04:57:20 PM »
Hi Mike
I melted my aluminum, but I notice as I was pooring that It seems to get almost a skin layer as I pour and it did not fill the entire foam.

I almost think that I am not getting the aluminum hot enough or am I doing something else wrong?

Thank you,
Mike
Sounds like you answered your own question  :med:  ,,,,,,,,,,, probably not hot enough  :thumbup:  ,,, If you have a thin walled can it will loose heat quickly .

More heat ,, thicker pot  :dremel:

Rob 

Offline Chazz

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2011, 05:16:43 PM »
Also, did you 'skim' the surface just prior to the pour?

Chazz
Craftex CT129N Mill & Craftex 9 x 20 CT039 Lathe

Offline dmbasher

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2011, 05:29:14 PM »
I believe that industry melts out the foam before casting. Use anti - gassing tablets so you dont get a casting looking like Swiss cheese. At least use a thick steel pot or better, a proper crucible and make sure you have more than enough molten metal to do the job.Good luck.

Offline FLOPGUY

« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2011, 05:39:16 PM »