Author Topic: Pinging Bogstandard  (Read 5218 times)

Offline crankshafter

Pinging Bogstandard
« on: January 19, 2009, 05:56:36 PM »
Hello Bogs. :wave:
Ok so it is here you are hiding :) If you remember I post you some advice over at HMEM about your problem with the threading dial on your new lathe.
How did the threads turn out? Just wondering :scratch:
best regards
Crankshafter

bogstandard

Re: Pinging Bogstandard
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2009, 06:19:56 PM »
Hi Crankshafter,

I have been hiding here for a couple of months, sticking my nose in and being a general PITA as usual. But not doing much on the build side as yet, but I will get there.

The lathe has been in constant use (when I can get onto it) doing other things, and it has turned out great.
I now understand all the workings of the threading side, but have not yet had chance to try it out.

I have a couple of plans for a retracting toolpost holder, and I am going to take the best bits from each one and make one to my own design (it is already in my head, just got to get it down onto paper), and it will retract for both internal and external threads. So until that is made, I don't really want to try the threading out, as it is a PITA having to have the halfnuts permanently engaged for all of the imperial threads.

Give it a few months, and I might just get it onto my to-do list.

Make yourself welcome and have a good look around.

Bogs

Offline crankshafter

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2009, 09:42:33 AM »
Hi Crankshafter,

I have been hiding here for a couple of months, sticking my nose in and being a general PITA as usual. But not doing much on the build side as yet, but I will get there.

The lathe has been in constant use (when I can get onto it) doing other things, and it has turned out great.
I now understand all the workings of the threading side, but have not yet had chance to try it out.