Author Topic: Is this Die made improperly?  (Read 10010 times)

Offline SPiN Racing

• Madmodder Committee
Is this Die made improperly?
« on: January 30, 2009, 01:54:13 AM »
Evening all,

I wasnt sure if this is the right section. BUt I figure it works in How Do I.. because soo many things I am a complete novice at.

Yes I have used Dies before, and Taps. I have since I was little.. but most of the things I used them for were repairing somethign that wasnt very presice.

Machining.. And wanting to tap something, or Cut external threads with a Die... you kinda need to do it precisely.

I kinda feel like Im drawing it in CAD.. marking it with a thick Sharpie, and cutting it with a plasma cutter.

Anyhow... so the thing is... With the fan pull I made for my mom, I realised that the threads I cut in the end were offcenter. The drill and tap job in the brass was centered though.
It dawned on my I am very likely doing something wrong... OR the Die is actually crappy, not just a cheap cheap cheap die.. but a crappily cut one too.

This is the Die in the holder.

Here we have it flipped over,

And again

Now here is how I was cutting threads in a shaft with the die.
My method is basically to close the jaws of the chuck so that they are centered in the opening on the Die Holder, then move the tailstock so its against the part I am cutting the thread into.
I then crank the 3 jaw by hand with some RapidTap in the Die, and on the part.
As I crank the 3-jaw, I run the tailstock in so it stays lightly snug, and keeps the die square.

And here is a clip of a stainless shaft I cut threads into, with the die in the 3-jaw. The other end of the shaft is snug enough to lightly drag in the drill chuck in the tailstock. The shaft is around 8 inches long.

I put my indicator on it to see how much runout it has... and as you see, either the shaft is off center in the Die, AKA threads mal-cut, or the threads are off center in the die, and the part is indicating offset.